What you need to know about KRU elections
By Eric Njiru | Tue 19 Mar, 2019 15:34

Up to 10 candidates have shown interest to be the next directors of the Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) as affiliates head to polls on Wednesday March 20 from 3pm at Quins.

Elections of KRU Chairman and four directors to serve for the next four years is agenda four of the meeting.

Current directors Ray Olendo (in-charge of national squads and elite performance) and Ezekiel Owuor will be seeking re-election.

Those interested in joining the KRU board as directors, as Raga House understands, are former directors Moses Ndale and John Kilonzo who were voted out in last election.

Referee Peris Mukoko is also among those to be in the ballot on Wednesday alongside Angela Olum and Ken Thimba.

Muhuri Muchiri’s Mwalimu Kikechi Kombo, who is said to be enjoying support from Nationwide clubs, is also in the running as is former Kenya Lionesses team manager Sarah Otieno.

With the new constitution coming in place Ian Mugambi is eligible to vie as well as Omwela even though the latter will not be doing so. 

Who will vote?

Kenya Rugby Union affiliates, who have paid affiliation fee, are eligible to vote. These are 12 Kenya Cup clubs with two votes each, 12 Championship clubs and Nationwide clubs.

Approximately 56 voters plus four board members are expected to cast their votes.

Four board members are Chairman Richard Omwela, Secretary Oduor Gangla, Vice-chairman Thomas Opiyo and Treasurer Joshua Aroni. Directors and CEO have no votes.

Only Oscar Mango and Hillary Itela are not up for election.

What happens if Gangla is elected new chairman?

Oduor Gangla currently holds the position of Hon.Secretary and if elected as the next KRU Chairman, the board will have a sitting in the next few weeks to decide on who takes up the secretary's position.

If he losses to Sasha or Asiko, Gangla will continue to serve as KRU Hon.Secretary until his term ends. 

KRU Elections 2019 Candidates
Chairman (1) and Proposer

1.Oduor Gangla -Impala Saracens
2.Sasha Mutai -Mean Machine, Quins
3.Asiko Owiro- KCB, Western Bulls

Directors (4)
1.Ian Mugambi- Offers himself for re-election
2.Ezekiel Owuor - Offers himself for re-election
3.Ray Olendo - Offers himself for re-election
4.Moses Ndale -KCB and Kisumu RFC
5.John Kilonzo -Masaku RFC and Nondies
6.Peris Mukoko -Catholic Monks and KCB
7.Sarah Otieno -MMUST and Moi University
8.Angela Olum -Mwamba and Stormers
9.Ken Thimba -Quins and Masaku RFC
10.Kikechi Kombo -Comras and Egerton

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment