M KRU photos
Wanjia, Beda handed Quins debuts
By Eric Njiru | Fri 16 Nov, 2018 08:49

Fly-half Matt Wanjia and winger Aluda Beda will make their Kenya Harlequin debut on Sunday Nov 18 against Mwamba RFC in the first round of the 2018/19 Kenya Cup.

Wanjia starts at 10 while Beda starts on the blind wing as per the matchday 23 released by head coach Charles Cardovilliss.

Wanjia joined from Saturday's opponent Mwamba and with Eden Agero involved with the National Sevens team, he gets the nod to wear the Quins shirt.

Beda followed Cardovillis from Kabras in what was one of the major signings of the transfer window.

Last season’s top try scorer Peter Misango captains Quins while Ugandan trio of Aaron Oforywroth, Daudi Semwami and Solomon Okia starts at scrum-half, right wing and fullback respectively.

Jaspher Ochen will make his debut from the bench that has Dominic Osino, Frank Lawrence, Melvin Thairu and Martin Lugalia.

“Mwamba play some fluid, running rugby. They will be looking to avenge the Floodies plate final defeat to us. We just need to focus on our patterns,” said Cardovillis.

The Quins-Mwamba game was moved to Sunday 4pm due to the burial of former Quins star David 'Madilu' Gitau. Last season’s meeting between Quins and Mwamba on matchday 3 saw Quins win 48-16 at RFUEA.

Lyle Asiligwa, Ian Oneil, David Ambunya, George Owino and Brian Beckham are named in the ESS side to play Mwamba II from 2pm.

Quins Starting 15
1. Brian Obwaya 2. Edward Oseko 3. Paul Kioko 4. Hillary Barasa 5. Mike Onsando 6. Edward Shitanda 7. Patrice Agunda 8. Peter Misango – C 9. Aaron Oforywroth 10. Martin Wanjia* 11. Aluda Beda* 12  Alex Olaba 13. Edwin Okemwa 14. Daudi Semwami 15. Solomon Okia – VC 

16. Martin Lugalia 17. Melvin Thairu 18. Elisha Koronya 19. Newton Partet 20. Frank Lawrence 21. Jarvis Bandi 22. Dominic Osino 
23. Jaspher Ochen*

1. Ayub Kimutai 2. Frank Kalwale 3. John Okwara 4. Wayne Mungei 5. Levi Masika  6. Jimmy Njenga 7. Mtalaheri Matthew 8. Kevin Angote – C 9. Lyle Asiligwa 10. Smith Muhoya  11. Idris Kakai  12. Ian Oneil 13. David Ambunya – VC 14. George Owino 15. Brian Beckham

16. Brian Waraba 17. Mike Mugo 18. Moses Okeyo 19. Steve Biko 20. Robert Agutu 21. Nick Ndegwa 22. Brian Onyiego 23. Mike Ochieng

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment