Wambua names Lionesses squad for series qualifiers, commonwealth games
By Raga House | Wed 28 Mar, 2018 11:38

12 players have been named for the Women’s World Sevens qualifiers and Commonwealth 7s by Kenya Lionesses head coach Kevin Wambua.

Philadelphia Olando skippers the side to Hong Kong 7s and Commonwealth games with Sheila Chajira of Homeboyz set to be her vice captain.

Grace Adhiambo, Sinaida Aura, Doreen Remour, Celestine Masinde, Linet Moraa, Rachel Mbogo, Janet Owino, Janet Okello and Cynthia Camilla are others named.

Stacy Awuor will link up with the squad in Gold Coast.

Kenya Lionesses has been banded in pool A of the Women’s Sevens series qualifiers. Kenya will play African champions South Africa, Papua New Guinea and Mexico.

Brazil are in pool B with Hong Kong, China and Kazakhstan as Wales, Belgium, Argentina and Poland complete pool C.

The winner of the tournament will qualify as a core team for next season’s World Sevens Series, Women’s category.

The 12 teams are seeded in three pools with the top eight teams at the close of the day one preliminary round of matches qualify for the cup quarter finals with the cup finalists eventually securing a berth on the series.

Commonwealth Games

Kenya Lionesses has landed one of the toughest pools for the Commonwealth Sevens women’s category. They are in pool A with South Africa, Canada and New Zealand.

The second and last pool has Sydney 7s champions and hosts Australia, Fiji, England and Wales. The top two will progress from each pool in the eight-team women's event.

Lionesses squad to Hong Kong and Gold Coast

Philadelphia Olando (Captain), Sheila Chajira (Vice Captain), Grace Adhiambo, Judith Auma, Sinaida Aura, Doreen Remour, Celestine Masinde, Linet Moraa, Rachel Mbogo, Janet Owino, Janet Okello, Camila Cynthia, Stacy Awuor * ( Stacy Awuor to link up with the squad in Gold Coast)

World Sevens qualifiers
Pool C: Wales, Belgium, Argentina, Poland,
Pool B: Brazil, Hong Kong, China, 


Pool A: South Africa, Kenya, Papua New Guinea, Mexico

Commonwealth 7s
Men’s pools


ool A — South Africa, Scotland, PNG, Malaysia

Pool B — England, Australia, Samoa, Jamaica
Pool C — New Zealand, Canada, Kenya, Zambia
Pool D — Fiji, Wales, Uganda, Sri Lanka

Women’s pools

Pool A — New Zealand, Canada, South Africa, Kenya

Pool B — Australia, Fiji, England, Wales,

Raga House
Leave a comment