Victoria Cup returns
By Raga House | Fri 14 Jun, 2019 14:23

Kenya Simbas are set to take part in the revived Victoria Cup set to start on Saturday, June 22, 2019.

According to a communique from Rugby Afrique’s media partner APO, Kenya, Uganda Zambia and Zimbabwe will contest the 2019 Victoria Cup. This comes after confirmation of the cancelation of the Rugby Africa Gold Cup this year as a result of the main sponsor Kwese Sports pulling out unexpectedly.  

In lieu thereof, the Victoria Cup has been revived and the tournament will involve Kenya, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.  Kenya Simbas are set to play Uganda on June 22 in the first leg of the Elgon Cup which looks like it will double up as Victoria Cup. KRU is yet to release a statement regarding Victoria Cup.

Elgon Cup return leg is set for July 13 in Kampala with the game also listed on the Victoria Cup schedule.

Kenya is set to host Zimbabwe on July 6 with the return leg on July 20 in Harare. Kenya’s last away match is against Zambia on July 27 with the return leg set for August 17.

 Rugby World Cup-bound Namibia is not part of the competition. 

The competition is named after Lake Victoria in Kenya and Victoria Falls which were named in honor of the reigning Queen Victoria and her great grandmother

The Victoria cup match schedule:
22 June
Kenya v Uganda

6 July  
Kenya v Zimbabwe 

13 July  
Uganda v Kenya 

13 July
Zimbabwe v Zambia 

20 July 
Zimbabwe v Kenya

27 July
Uganda v Zimbabwe 

27 July 
Zambia v Kenya 

10 August 
Uganda v Zambia 

17 August  
Kenya v Zambia 

24 August  
Zimbabwe v Uganda

31 August 
Zambia v Uganda 

14 September 
Zambia v Zimbabwe  

Raga House
Leave a comment