. Kenya Simbas vs Zambia in a past game. Simbas won their duel on Sat 24 Aug 2019 31-16 at the RFUEA Grounds
Victoria Cup: Kenya stops Zambia
By Patrick Korir | Sat 24 Aug, 2019 18:21

Kenya Simbas returned to winning ways after seeing off visiting Zambia 30-16 in a Victoria Cup clash played at the RFUEA Grounds on Saturday 24 August 2019.

Kenya outscored Zambia four to one try but each tied in the other statistics with three penalties and a conversion apiece. 

Also read Five to make Kenya Simbas debut against Zambia

The Simbas led 18-13 at half time before going on to win the duel to claw back to winning ways having lost 30-29 to hosts Zimbabwe in their last encounter in the competition.

The Saturday wins means the Simbas complete a double over Zambia having taken down the same foes 43-23 at the Nkana West Rugby Field, Kitwe in late July.

A penalty by Isaac Njoroge started it all before skipper of the day Curtis Lilako landed a try that Njoroge was sure with the extra for a 10-0 lead by the Simbas.

A Laston Mukosa penalty for Zambia reduced the scores to 10-3 but a try by Elkeans Musonye, after a dash from the base of the scrum, had Kenya up 15-3.

Zambia then came dangerously close with a penalty and conversion from the boots of Mukosa, the two in between Outside center Edward Mumba's try to come to within two points; 15-13.

Njoroge's boot had Kenya stretch to 18-13 heading to the break.

Just as he did at the start, Njoroge activated the second half with a penalty paving was for two unconverted tries Oscar Simiyu and Brian Amaitsa. A long range penalty by Mukosa wrapped the game at 31-16.


Kenya Simbas; 1. Oscar Simiyu (KCB), 2. Toby Francombe (Nondies), 3. Curtis Lilako (KCB), 4. Francis Mwita (KCB), 5. Malcolm Onsando (Kenya Harlequin), 6. Brian Amaitsa (Nondies), 7. Monate Akuei (Nakuru), 8. Elkeans Musonye (Impala), 9. Samuel Asati (KCB), 10. Charles Kuka (USIU), 11. Geoffrey Okwatch (KCB), 12. Johnstone Mung’au (Kabras Sugar), 13. Eliud Mulakoli (USIU), 14. Jacob Ojee (KCB), 15. Isaac Njoroge (KCB).

Reserves: 16. Griffin Musila (KCB), 17. Ian Njenga (Nondies), 18. Melvin Thairu (Kenya Harlequin), 19. Simon Minaifu (Impala), 20. Emmanuel Silungi (Homeboyz), 21. Samson Onsomu (Impala), 22. Anthony Odhiambo (Impala), John Okoth (Nakuru)

Zambia; 1. Berthlock Sikaona, 2. Kafula Chishimba, 3. Mphatso Mwashi, 4. Nigel Chibwe, 5. Rodgers Mukupa, 6. Mike Masabo, 7. Pheka Phiri, 8. Patson Kasonde, 9. Lawrence Kaushiku, 10.Fine Chinkumbe, 11.Larry Kaushiku, 12.Israel Kalumba, 13.Edward Mumba, 14.Jason Thole, 15. Laston Mukosa

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment