Uganda, Zimbabwe qualify for 2018 Sevens World Cup
By Eric Njiru | Sat 07 Oct, 2017 14:44

Uganda and Zimbabwe have qualified for the 2018 Sevens World Cup courtesy of reaching Africa 7s final on Saturday, October 7, 2017, in Kampala.

The Cranes beat Zambia 38-12 in the first semi to secure the slot to next year’s global showpiece to be held in San Francisco Bay, USA. Zimbabwe saw off Madagascar 21-10. 

Lawrence Sebuliba scored four tries with Kabras Sugar’s Philip Wokorach and Kevin Kermudu also crossing over as well as adding the extras.

The two join Kenya Sevens and South Africa who qualified after reaching the last eight in the previous edition of the Sevens World Cup.

Zimbabwe competed at the 2013 Sevens World Cup losing 26-17 to Samoa in the Plate quarters.

Kenya, South Africa, United States, Canada, Argentina, England, France, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Russia, Australia, Fiji, New Zealand and Samoa are the other nations that have qualified.  The remaining seven places will be filled by Ocenia (2), Asia (2), South America (2) and America North (1).

Uganda has also qualified for the 2018 Commonwealth Games to be held in Australia in between Hong Kong and Singapore 7s but Zimbabwe will not participate since they are no longer part of the Commonwealth. Zambia takes the slot since Madagascar was a French colony and thus not part of the Commonwealth.

Uganda and Zimbabwe will return to the HSBC World Sevens Series qualifiers at Hong Kong Sevens. Before the qualifiers, the finalist will be invited to Dubai and Cape Town Sevens tournaments in December.

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment