U Getty Images
Uganda pooled alongside Japan, Chile for Sevens Series qualifiers
By Eric Njiru | Mon 12 Mar, 2018 14:51

Uganda Sevens will be looking to qualify for World Sevens series as a core team once again during this year’s qualifiers on April 6-8, 2018 in Hong Kong.

The draw for the qualifying tournament was conducted on Monday afternoon in Hong Kong with Uganda falling in pool E alongside Japan, Chile and Georgia.

African side Zimbabwe are back to the qualifiers after missing out in 2017 and will play Germany, Papua New Guinea and Hong Kong in pool F.

The last pool has Ireland, Uruguay, Jamaica and Cook Islands with the winner getting the sole ticket to become a core team during the 2018/19 HSBC World Sevens Series.

In 2017, Spain won the tournament to gain core status.

Relegation from core team status will be decided at the end of the season, with the bottom-ranked of the 15 current core teams* after round 10 in London losing their ever-present status.

Qualifiers tournament
Pool E: Uganda, Japan, Chile, Georgia
pool F: Germany, PNG, Hong Kong, Zimbabwe
Pool G: Ireland, Uruguay, Jamaica, Cook Islands

Kenya Cup   Uganda   Kenya 7s  
Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment