F Levis Ocen of Daystar Falcons and Uganda
Uganda name Daystar ace for World Challenger Series
By Eric Njiru | Wed 05 Feb, 2020 13:47

Daystar Falcons ace Levis Ocen is part of the 12-man squad named by Uganda for the inaugural men’s tournament on the World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series, which will take place in Viña del Mar, Chile, on 15-16 February, 2020.

Ocen joins former Kabras Sugar fullback Philip Wokorach, Michael Wokorach, Pius Ogena, Solomon Okia, Aaron Ofoywroth and William Nkore in the squad to South America.

"A big Congratulation to our very own Levis Ocen who has made the Uganda Rugby Union sevens team that will be traveling to the World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series this February," read a statement from Daystar Falcons. 

Germany, Italy, Paraguay and Uganda complete pool C as Hong Kong, Colombia, Jamaica and Papua New Guinea make up Pool B. Hosts Chile are drawn in Pool D and will face Brazil, Mexico and Zimbabwe, while hosts of the second round of competition, Uruguay will be joined by Japan, Portugal and Tonga in Pool A.

Following the resounding success of rugby sevens’ debut as an Olympic sport at Rio 2016, which attracted 17 million new fans to the sport, the Sevens Challenger Series will take rugby sevens to new nations and further grow the popularity and participation of the seven-a-side format of the game.

Teams will travel to Montevideo, Uruguay, for the second round of the Sevens Challenger Series on 22-23 February before the top eight teams progress to the final play-off tournament at the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens event on 3-5 April, 2020 where they will compete for a spot on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2021.

The promoted team will replace the bottom placed core team in the World Series this season providing a clear and consistent pathway and incentive for teams, rewarding them with an opportunity to play against the world’s best.

Uganda squad:
1.Pius Ogena 2.Desire Ayera 3.Ian Munyani 4.Levis Ocen 5.Solomon Okia 6.Isaac Massanganzira Newton 7.Adrian Kasito 8.Aaron Ofoywroth 9.William Nkore 10.Norbert Okeny 11.Philip Wokorach 12.Michael Wokorach

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment