A Photo credit - The Guardian
Turnaround Australia stun Argentina
By Patrick Korir | Sun 07 Oct, 2018 07:16

Australia solved their rugby problem in style, scrumming up from a 31-7 half time shortfall to pile up 38 points in the second half to hit host Argentina 45-34 in Salta in the final Rugby Championship game of the year in the wee of Sunday 6 October, 2018.

At the end of the first half Australia were on the ropes and looked to be exiting this year's Rugby Championship with their first ever wooden spoon. 

But it was a case of two halves, and while the Pumas had the first, the Wallabies commanded the second outscoring the home team 38-3. 

In mid September the Pumas had shocked the Wallabies 23-19 at the Cbus Super Stadium, Brisbane, to end 35 years of waiting - since 1983 - of winning on Australian soil. 

Two converted tries inside four minutes by Pablo Matera and Emiliano Boffelli had the Pumas 14-0 up. Aussie skipper Michael Hooper got the visitors on the score sheet on 14 minutes with a try that Ben Foley converted to bring the scores to 14-7.

Two further tries by Matias Orlando and Santiago Iglesias - who added a penalty after, had the Pumas 31-7 up at the break.

Successive tries in the second half by Izack Rodda, Israel Folau, Dane Haylett-Petty - all inverted by Foley, had the scores at 31-28.

An Iglesias penalty on 58 minutes moved the Pumas up to 34-28 but a converted try by David Pocock saw Australia lead for the first time; 35-34. 

A second try by Dane Haylett-Petty followed by conversion and additional penalty by Foley completed the turnaround settling the game at 45-34. 

Australia finished third on the log with nine points, one more than Argentina. New Zealand won the Championship with 25 points as South Africa came second with 15 points. 


Australia: (15-1): Dane Haylett-Petty, Israel Folau, Reece Hodge, Kurtley Beale, Marika Koroibete, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, David Pocock, Michael Hooper (c), Ned Hanigan, Adam Coleman, Izack Rodda, Taniela Tupou, Folau Faingaa, Scott Sio

Reserves: Tolu Latu, Sekope Kepu, Allan Alaalatoa, Rob Simmons, Rory Arnold, Caleb Timu, Nick Phipps, Matt Toomua, Tom Banks

Argentina: (15-1): Emiliano Boffelli, Matias Moroni, Matias Orlando, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Ramiro Moyano, Nicolas Sanchez, Gonzalo Bertranou, Javier Ortega Desio, Marcos Kremer, Pablo Matera, Tomas Lavanini, Guido Petti, Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy (c), Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro

Reserves: Julian Montoya, Santiago Garcia Botta, Santiago Medrano, Matias Alemanno, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Tomas Cubelli, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Sebastian Cancelliere

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment