Taabu, Olindi make Kenya squad for Dubai 7s
By Eric Njiru | Thu 22 Nov, 2018 12:27

Head Coach Paul Murunga named his first Kenya 7s squad that will do duty at the opening leg of the 2018/19 HSBC World Sevens Series -Dubai 7s from Friday Nov 30. 

National Sevens Circuit top scorers Daniel Taabu of Mwamba and Johnstone Olindi are set for their debut in a squad made up of youth and experience

Kenya Harlequins half-back Eden Agero will captain the squad as he is joined by Eric Ombasa, Dennis Ombachi, Herman Humwa and Jeff Oluoch as the only players from last season. 

There is a return for Leonard Mugaisi for the first time since 2016/17 season while Alvin Otieno and Samuel Motari who won Singapore 7s in 2016 are also named. 

Blak Blad's Brian Wahinya continues to rise and will make his series debut in Dubai. He played for Kenya 7s at Victoria Falls 7s in 2017. 

Regulars Collins Injera, Andrew Amonde, Willy Ambaka Sammy Oliech, and Nelson Oyoo are un-available as they are in France with Kenya Simbas for 2019 Rugby World Cup repechage tournament that ends on Friday after Kenya plays Germany and Canada takes on Hong Kong 

At Dubai 7s, Kenya’s first match against Scotland will be at 8.44am which will be the fourth match of the day. Kenya is in pool B of the leg and are set to play France at 11.44am in their second match of the day.

Third and final pool match on that Friday will be against lasts season’s series runners up Fiji at 6.06pm Kenyan time.

Champions South Africa are seeded top and will play Argentina, Samoa and Zimbabwe who go to Dubai 7s as the invitational side and 16th team, highest ranked from African region.

World champions New Zealand are in pool C with Mike Friday's USA, Spain and Wales as Australia make up pool D alongside England, Canada and Japan.

Kenya 7s squad to Dubai 7s 2018
1.Dennis Ombachi 2. Alvine Otieno 3. Charles Omondi 4. Leonard Mugaisi 5. Eden Agero 6. Eric Ombasa 7. Samuel Motari 8. Herman Humwa 9. Jeff Oluoch 10. Daniel Taabu 11. Wahinya Brian 12.Johnstone Olindi

Dubai 7s 2018 pools
Pool A: South Africa, Argentina, Samoa, Zimbabwe
Pool B: Fiji, Kenya, Scotland, France
Pool C: New Zealand, USA, Spain, Wales
Pool D: Australia, England, Canada, Japan 

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment