S Leos
Sikuta to captain Kabras, Musonye back for Strathmore
By Dennis Gatuha | Fri 07 Dec, 2018 11:19

Brawny Kabras RFC flanker Dan Sikuta has been handed the captaincy for a fourth round Kenya Cup clash with Strathmore Leos in Madaraka, Nairobi.

Regular skipper Max Adaka will start off the bench and is among a number of players who the coach confirmed are been managed for the Impala Saracens match next weekend.

Felix Ayange has been deployed at fullback as Philip Wokorach has a slight ankle niggle. He will be flanked by Malik Habil on the left and Paul Abuto on the right in the back-three.

Kelvin Keegan will pull the strings at fly-half owing to a knee injury sustained by Logan Basson during the side's shellacking of Nakuru last weekend and will partner with Brian Tanga; Nick Barasa has been brought in at inside centre.

Up front, Ephraim Odour will start at loosehead prop, Geoff Shitambasi at hooker and Ugandan international Asuman Mugerwa will anchor the tighthead side of the scrum.

Ugandan enforcer Eliphaz Emong has been recalled into the engine room where he will pair Brian Juma, as has wrecking ball Charlton Mokua at blindside flank.

Among those on the bench are new signing Mario Wilson.

Strathmore Leos have included behemoth loose-forward Elkeans Musonye in their matchday squad.

The Simbas international will pack down the openside flank, pushing last weekend starter  Azziz Silas to blindside, who further pushes Fanuel Aduda into the second-row where he will pair with Austine Mboya.

Arnold Omollo and Andrew Okot has been handed the loosehead and tighthead prop duties ahead of Barry Guda and James Wanjala.

Gideon Makumi, the weekend's skipper, has been shifted from in-half to out-half, as has Lucas Opal to fullback from out-half.

Strathmore are winless in three matches and are rooted to the foot of the 12-team log while Kabras are perched at the pinnacle thanks to three bonus-point wins.

A win for Leos will not only be their first of the season but also their first ever over Kabras.

1. Ephraim Odour 2. Geoff Shitambasi 3. Asuman Mugerwa 4. Eliphaz Emong 5. Brian Juma 6. Dan Sikuta 7. Charlton Mokua 8. Claude Johannes 9. Brian Tanga 10. Kelvin Keegan 11. Malik Habil 12. Nick Baraza 13. Fabian Olando 14. Paul Abuto 15. Felix Ayange 

16. Max Adaka 17. Hosea Ngesa 18. Steve Ochieng 19. Hillary Odhiambo 20. George Nyambua 21. Barry Robinson 22. Mario Wilson 23. Kelly Akengo

Strathmore: 1. Omollo Arnold 2. Clinton Imbuye 3. Andrew Okot 4.Aduda Fanuel 5. Austine Mboya 6. Silas Aziz 7. Elkeans Musonye 8. Barnabas Owour 9. Arnold Muita 10. Giddy Makumi 11. Alex Maina 12. Wiseman Anganya 13. Richard Omeda 14. John Juma 15. Lucas Opal 

Replacements: 16. Abdi Mohammed 17. Wanjala James 18. Bethuel Anami 19. Buop George 20. Jack Angawa 21. Mogoya Mathews 22. Mathews Matiri

Dennis Gatuha
Once aspired to be a rugby player. Now writes about rugby players.
Leave a comment