Photo credit; World rugby
Schedule confirmed for HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2019
By Eric Njiru | Fri 06 Jul, 2018 16:26

The men’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will again be contested across 10 rounds from November 2018 to June 2019.

The series opens in Dubai on 30-1 December, 2018, before teams move on to Cape Town in South Africa the following week.

In the New Year, teams will travel to Hamilton, New Zealand, on 26-27 January, 2019 before both men’s and women’s teams are welcomed to Sydney, Australia, for three days of action packed rugby sevens from 1-3 February.

The fifth and sixth rounds will be hosted in Las Vegas, USA, on 1-3 March and Vancouver, Canada, on 9-10 March, before teams travel to Hong Kong on 5-7 April and Singapore on 13-14 April for rounds seven and eight respectively.

The penultimate round of the series will take place again in London on 25-26 May with Paris hosting the finale on 1-2 June.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “As we enter an Olympic Games qualifying year, the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series promises to again be highly competitive as both men’s and women’s teams look to secure their place, via the world series, at Tokyo 2020.

“Rugby sevens has seen record growth in awareness in recent years with its inclusion in the Olympics having a profound effect on the sport, attracting an estimated 30 million fans globally. The series continues to capture the imagination of global audiences with record-breaking fan engagement figures of over 120 million video views recorded this year.

“The world series is truly one of rugby sevens’ flagship competitions and we are looking forward to watching teams once again compete at the highest level for not only for the coveted world series title, but also Olympic qualification.”

Dubai 30 - 1 Nov/Dec
Cape Town 8-9 Dec 

Hamilton 26-27 Jan
Sydney 2-3 Feb
Las Vegas 1-3 Mar
Vancouver 9-10 Mar
Hong Kong 5-7 Apr
Singapore 13-14 Apr
London 25-26 May
Paris 1- 2 Jun

Eric Njiru 0726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment