S Samurai
Samurai name final squad for Safari 7s
By Eric Njiru | Wed 07 Nov, 2018 13:33

Samurai 7s on Wednesday named the final 13-man squad for Saturday's Safari 7s at RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi, Kenya.

From the initial 15-man squad released last week by head coach Nick Wakley, Kenyan duo of Patrice Agunda and Oscar Ouma do not make the final 13 with Oscar Dennis, Augustine Lugonzo and Tony Owuor being the only local boys. 

Kenya Harlequin half-back Solomon Okia, a Ugandan international, is also retained as Samurai prepares to take on HSBC World Sevens Series core side Spain, Red Wailers and Uganda II.

Six South Africans retained by Wakley are Western Province trio of Ruan Mostert, Josh Bassingthwaitghe and Braam Venter. The others include UWC’s Kurt Lee, Pieter Uys of Blue Bulls and Angus Van Niekerk of SA Select 7s & Maties 7s. 

Samurai 7s won the 2015 edition beating hosts Kenya 7s 20-19 but failed to defend in 2016 after losing to an inspired Kenya 38-21 at Kasarani. 

Samurai 7s squad for 2018 Safari 7s in Nairobi

1.Jamie Adamson (Newcastle Falcons Academy) 
2.Kurt Lee Arende (Asia Pacific Dragons, Hamilton, UWC) 
3.Josh Bassignthwaitghe (SA 7s Academy & Western Province)
4.Oscar Dennis (Kenya) 
5.Frank Lawrence (Kenya) 
6.Augustine Lugonzo (Kenya) 
7.Ruan Mostert (SA 7s and Western Province) 
8.Solomon Okia (Uganda) 
9.Tony Owuor (Kenya)
10.Hugo Stiles (Hong Kong and Bath Uni) 
11.Peter Uys (Blue Bulls 7s and UWC) 
12.Angus Van Niekerk (SA Select 7s & Maties 7s)
13.Braam Venter (Western Province & Maties 7s)

1.Nick Wakley (Head Coach) 
2.Ian Campbell(coach) 
3Fahad Adil(Manager)
4.George Odhiambo(Physio) 
5.Kennedy Barua(Asst Physio)

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Leave a comment