W Ministry of Rugby
Safari 7s adopts Olympics, Commonwealth system
By Raga House | Fri 19 Oct, 2018 17:18

The Kenya Rugby Union announced the Safari 7s set for November 9-11 in Nairobi will take the Olympic and Commonwealth games format of 12 teams.

A statement from KRU on Friday said "this is in line with other international events like the Olympics and the recently concluded Commonwealth Games and will provide both competition and entertainment over the 2 days of the main event."

Olympics and Commonwealth games system sees top two in each pool, plus the two best third-placed teams, qualify for the quarter-finals.

Safari 7s, which returns to RFUEA Grounds after eight years, has so far attracted up to eight sides which include Samurai, Spain, Portugal, Golden Lions and  Uganda among other international teams.

"With a few weeks left to the tournament, Kenya Rugby Union has received confirmations from seven international teams," added KRU.

Kenya will field two sides as has been the tradition, Shujaa and Morans.

Raga House
Leave a comment