M Photo credit - The Monitor
RWC 2023 qualifiers: Uganda off to a winning start
By Raga House | Sat 10 Jul, 2021 17:05

Uganda kicked off the 2021 Rugby Africa Cup/ 2023 Rugby World Cup (RWC) qualifiers on a high beating Ghana 53-12 on Saturday, July 10, 2021, at Kyadondo Rugby Grounds in Kampala.

Faraj Odugo, Solomon Okia(2), Brian Odongo, Desire Ayiera(2), Aaron Ofoywroth and Kanyanya went over for Uganda with Adrian Kasito converting the points and penalties. 

Uganda's next game in pool C is against Algeria on July 18 with the latter set to take on Ghana on July 14 in Kampala. 

The two highest-ranked teams in each of the pools in 2021 will play in a streamlined Rugby Africa Cup in 2022. Formatted as a straight knockout competition, Rugby Africa Cup 2022 will include four quarter-finals, two semi-finals and a final, all played in one venue.

In the first quarter-final, the winner of Pool A will take on the runner-up in Pool D, and in quarter-final 2, the winner of Pool D will play the runner-up in Pool A.

If the first two pools play out according to the rankings, Namibia and Tunisia and Zimbabwe and Madagascar will contest the first two quarter-finals of Rugby Africa Cup 2022. The winners of these quarter-finals will then play each other in semi-final 1.

Quarter-final 3 involves the winner of Pool B against the runner-up of Pool C, and quarter-final 4 will be contested by the winner of Pool C and the runner-up in Pool B. The winners of these quarter-finals will then meet in the other semi-final. Elgon Cup rivals, Kenya and Uganda, will be expected to top their respective pools and enter the quarter-finals as favourites in their half of the draw.

The loser of the Rugby Africa Cup final will still have another chance to qualify for France 2023 via the Final Qualification Tournament in November 2022.

Men Rugby Africa Cup Results:
Saturday, July 3, 2021
Kenya 19 Senegal 20

Ivory Coast 24 Namibia 13

Wednesday, July 7, 2021
Senegal 20 Zambia 5
Madagascar 10 Namibia 52

Saturday, July 10, 2021
Uganda 53 Ghana 12

Rugby Africa Cup 2021:
Pool A: Namibia, Madagascar, Ivory Coast
Pool B: Kenya, Zambia, Senegal
Pool C: Uganda, Algeria, Ghana
Pool D: Burkina Faso, Tunisia, Zimbabwe

Rugby Africa Cup 2022:
QF1- Winner Pool A vs Runner-Up pool D
QF2- Winner Pool D vs Runner-Up pool A
QF3- Winner Pool B (Senegal) vs Runner Up pool C
QF4- Winner Pool C vs Runner Up pool B

SF1- Winner QF1 vs Winner QF2
SF 2- Winner QF3 vs Winner QF4

Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2

Raga House
Leave a comment