K Quentin Didier
Rugby Africa Cup 2020 pool phase confirmed
By Raga House | Thu 16 Jan, 2020 18:00

The Simbas will start their 2020 Rugby Africa fixtures on Saturday 30th May at home against Morocco. The two are in Group B alongside Côte d’Ivoire who beat  Rwanda in November 2019. 

Back in 2019, Rugby Africa announced the new 2019/2020 format that sees all the invited 16 Nations competing for the overall Rugby Africa Cup title. The tournament will take place in three phases: Eliminatory round, Group Round and the Final Round.

The Eliminatory round took place on the 23rd, 30th November and 1st December:

The Group round will then kick off six months later on 30th May to 4th July 2020. The twelve teams have been divided into four Groups:

Group A: Namibia, Zambia, Winner of the match Madagascar 

Group B: Kenya, Morocco, Winner of the match Côte d’Ivoire

Group C: Uganda, Algeria, Winner of the match Senegal 

Group D: Tunisia, Zimbabwe, Winner of the match Ghana 

On 30th May, The Simbas host Morocco in the first Group B match, the second Group match will be held in Morocco where the hosts will welcome either Côte d’Ivoire or Rwanda. The last Group B fixture is scheduled for 27th June when The Simbas will head to Côte d’Ivoire or Rwanda.

The final round will be held on 29th July and 1st August in a single venue that is yet to be confirmed. On 29th July, the Group A winner will face the group D winner in the first semifinal followed by the Group B winner taking on the Group C winner in the second semifinal. The Bronze and final matches will take place on the 1st of August.

Kenya Simbas 2020 RA Cup Fixtures:

30th May vs Morocco – HOME

27th June vs Côte d’Ivoire or Rwanda – AWAY

-Additional material derived from Rugby Afrique 

Raga House
Leave a comment