K Shujaa Pride Image
Road to RWC 2023 confirmed with quarterfinal pairings
By Raga House | Thu 22 Jul, 2021 16:57

Despite the challenges of COVID-19 and travel restrictions, 13 top African rugby men’s teams have been competing through more than a month of on-field competition in the 2021-2022 Rugby Africa Cup pool play-offs which culminated on Thursday in Harare, Zimbabwe.

The 2021–22 Rugby Africa Cup, which doubles as qualifying for the 2023 Rugby World Cup for Africa began on 5th June 2021, where teams have been competing for one direct qualification spot into the final World Cup tournament and for one place in the final qualification tournament.

The World Cup qualification process doubles as a new two-year format for the Africa Cup. Cup winner will qualify for 2023 Rugby World Cup to be held in France with the loser of the Rugby Africa Cup final getting another chance to qualify for France 2023 via the Final Qualification Tournament in November 2022.

Going into the Rugby Africa Cup 2022 quarter finals are:

  • Namibia v Burkina Faso
  • Senegal v Algeria
  • Uganda v Kenya
  • Zimbabwe v Côte d’Ivoire

Rugby Africa Cup 2022:
QF1- Winner Pool A(Namibia) vs Runner-Up pool D (Burkina Faso)
QF2- Winner Pool D (Zimbabwe) vs Runner-Up pool A (Ivory Coast)
QF3- Winner Pool B (Senegal) vs Runner Up pool C (Algeria)
QF4- Winner Pool C (Uganda) vs Runner Up pool B (Kenya)

SF1- Winner QF1 vs Winner QF2
SF 2- Winner QF3 vs Winner QF4

Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2

Raga House
Leave a comment