W William Reeves
Reeves at fly-half for Quins, Mang'eni back for KCB
By Dennis Gatuha | Fri 07 Dec, 2018 08:52

William Reeves will taste his first Kenya Cup action when fifth-placed Kenya Harlequin host KCB RFC, fourth, on Saturday at the RFUEA Grounds.

The Welsh-born Kenyan international will start at fly-half in what will be his second match in a Quins jersey; on his debut in October, he played at fullback and was named the man of the match.

Coach Charles Cardovillis has made four changes to his starting Xv, most of them positional switches: Dominic Osino has been moved from scrum-half to the wing, Jaspher Ochen from fly-half to centre. The diminutive Osino is however not new to the back-three climes, having played at fullback for Kabras pre Cardovillis era.

Flanker Edward Shitanda for skipper Peter Misango is the only change in the forwards pack. In MIsango's absence, Patrice Agunda will lead the team out.

Among those named as replacements are Kenya Simbas pair of Malcom Onsando and Wilson Kopondo.

Defending Champions KCB have rejigged their forwards in readiness of their round four showdown.

The lanky Oliver Mang'eni has been handed a slot in the engine room in what will be his first appearance for the Bankers since the Kenya Cup finals in March. Mang'eni will reignite his second row pairing with Francis Muita of a few seasons ago.

Further up, Oscar Simiyu and George Asin have been recalled at the expense of Moses Amusala and Peter Kaaria respectively.

 In the loose-forwards, Rocky Aguko has dropped out of the match day 23 and has been replaced by Felix Ojow at openside flank. Andrew Amonde has shifted from eight to blindside, as has Peter Waitere to eight from openside flank.

The backs department has not been altered.

1.Brian Obwaya 2. Frank Kalwale 3.Paul Kioko 4. Hillary Baraza 5.Mike Onsando 6.Patrice Agunda 7. Shitanda Edward 8. Kelvin Angote 9. Aaron Ofworoith 10. Wiliam Reeves 11.Aluda beda 12. Alex Olaba 13. Jaspher Ochen 14. Dominic Osino `15. Martin Wanjia 

Replacements: 16 Bonface Ochieng 17. Melvin Thairu 18. Ayub Kimutai 19. Wilson Kopondo 20. Malcom Onsando 21. Frank Wanyama 22. David Ambunya 23. Idriss Kakai

1. Oscar Simiyu 2. George Asin 3. Curtis Lilako 4. Francis Muita 5. Oliver Mang'eni 6. Andrew Amonde 7. Felix Ojow 8. Peter Waitere 9. Michael Wanjala 10. Billy Isabwa 11. Jacob Ojee 12. Essau otieno 13. Peter Kilonzo 14. Tony Onyango 15. Darwin Mukidza

Replacements: 16. Peter Kaaria 17. Moses Amusala 18. George Gishure 19. Ian Indimuli 20. Brian Nyikuli 21. Samuel Asati  22. Stafford Abeka 23. Issac Njoroge

Dennis Gatuha
Once aspired to be a rugby player. Now writes about rugby players.
Leave a comment