K Lens Eye Images
Quins, Nondies ring changes ahead of end-year cracker
By Eric Njiru | Fri 14 Dec, 2018 11:02
Kenya Harlequin host Nondies in matchday five of the 2018/19 Kenya Cup with the old rivalry set to be renewed at KCB Ruaraka grounds on Sat Dec 15.

This cracker will be the last of the year as teams head to the festive season and Nondies come at the back of first defeat of the season in what has been a frightening start from a side that did not make the playoffs last season. 

Quins head coach Charles Cardovillis named Jasper Ochien as the day's fly-half replacing William Reeve who started in the defeat to KCB.

Lyle Asiligwa starts at fullback with Martin Wanjia not named in the matchday 23 while Daudi Semwami and Iddi Kakai accelerate their wheels which sees Aluda Beda and Dominic Osino(bench) give way. 

"It's a good battle royale," said Cardovillis. "Nondies have begun well and will want to continue that. They have a very solid pacj and exciting backs but we are focused on what we can do and bring to the table."

In-form fly-half Martin Juma is retained by Nondies but Eric Gitau returns to pair Benji at midfield replacing Francis Ochiel. With Fidel Oloo not in the matchday squad, Eric Okoma moves from blindside to openside with Brian Amaitsa moving to blindside after starting from the bench in the defeat to Mwamba. 

The rivalry between these two sides dates back to the 90s. This fixture, last season, was set t be played on the last day of the league but bad weather forced it to be cancelled and both teams settled for a draw.

This clash will kick-off at 2 pm LIVE on Bamba Sport at Ruaraka, a place Nondies ended KCB's 20-month unbeaten run. 

As Nondies lost 12-13 to Mwamba on macthday 4, Quins went down 13-22 to KCB. Nondies are fourth with 15 points as Quins follow at fifth place with 11 points.


1.Brian Obwaya 2. Frank Khalwale 3. Paul Kioko 4. Michael Onsando 5. Malcolm Onsando 6. Hilary Baraza 7. Patrice Agunda 8. Peter Misango (C) 
9. Aaron Ofoywroth 10. Jasper Ochien 11. Daudi Semwami 12. Alex Olaba 13. David Ambunya (Vc) 14. Iddi Kakai 15. Lyle Asiligwa 

16. Boniface Ochieng' 17. Melvin Thairu  18. Elisha Koronya 19. Javis Bandi 20. Wayne Mung'ei* 21. Dominic Osino 22. Douglas Kahuri 23. Amon Mayenze

15.Ivan Chebo 14.Moses Big 13.Eric Gitau 12.Benjamin Marshall 11.Brian Oyando 10.Martin Juma 9.Ian Mumbwani 
1.Ian Njenga 2.Francis Mutuku 3.Eric Shimoli 4.Brian Njenga 5.Brian Sinei 6.Brian Amaitsa 7.Eric Okoma 8.Steve Odhiambo

16.Raphael Kathurima 18.Stephen Juma 19.Steven Ortice 20.Levis Ochieng 21.Saidi Sumba 22.Augustine Nangine 23.Brian Safari
Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment