M Photo by Alex Njue
Prinsloo 7s pool C: Impala, Oilers, Mombasa team news
By Eric Njiru | Fri 20 Jul, 2018 14:57

Menengai Oilers had a fantastic performance in last season's national sevens circuit and all eyes will be on them starting with Prinsloo 7s. 

They face an Impala side that has lost two Prinsloo 7s finals in a row while Mombasa RFC will be seeking to play the big league with the big boys. 

Western Bulls has since pulled out of Prinsloo 7s according to team manager Bram Shikanda and the three teams will be eager to learn who their opponent is as early as Friday. 

Menengai Oilers
With Samuel Ng'ethe in USA for Sevens World Cup, head coach Gibson Weru has named Harold Aduvate to captain the squad across the town with Clinton Odhiambo will be the assistant captain. From last season's dream squad, Derrick Keyoga, Peter Wanjala and Theophillus Lusangalu return while Moses Arara and Antony Kibet complete the 13-man squad. 

1. Harold Aduvate - c 2. Clinton odhiambo - Vc 3. Moses Arara 4. Blastas Juma 5. Antony Kibet 6. Bildad Ogeta 7. Andrew odero 8. Amos Onyinkwa 9. Derrick Mbaire 10. Derrick Keyoga 11. Peter Wanjala 12. Theophillus lusangalu 13. Ibrahim Bobo. 

Mombasa RFC
Mombasa are an invitational side and one target will be to stay in division 1. They travel from Coast with the hope of a strong start to the national sevens captain. 

Ezra Mulusa is named as the skipper while influential kicker Gabriel Makatiani will be hoping to have a good weekend in Nakuru. Gedion Mogeni, Patrick Mwakina, Isaac Situma and Nick Mawira are named in the squad.

1. Ezra Mulusa-Captain 2. Newton Malenya 3. Dennis Wechuli 4. Ezra Mumbo 5. Sudi Hussein 6. Gabriel Makatiani 7. Ian Njoroge 8. Gedion Mogeni 9. Patrick Mwakina 10. Isaac Situma 11. Dennis Njagi 12. Kevin Owuor 13. Nick Mawira 

Impala Saracens
Utility back Samuel Motari lead the Kabeberi 7s defending champions in to their first foray into the 2018/2019 Rugby Season. 

"It's first tournament so we will be seeking to build cohesion. We have a number of exciting young players just entering the Impala 7s frame. It will great to see them settle," said Motari after the pre-tournament Thursday session. 

Hard tackling and carrying flanker Harritone Munai and nippy scrum half Pateick Mutuku will be making their debut for the Ngong Road side. They join other post-Impala Academy players in the team - Paul Mutsami, Derrick Mayar, Mark Kwemoi and Steve Shammah. 

1. Harritone Munai* 2. Paul Mutsami 3. Derrick Mayar 4. Patrick Mutuku* 5. Mark Kwemoi 6. Samuel Motari 7.George Okowa 8. Ishmael Mokaya 9. Anthony Nyandigisi 10. Kanyiri Kariuki 11. Timothy Makiya 12. Steve Shammah 13. Emmanuel Okeya*

Pool C fixtures
 Menengai Oilers vs Western Bulls 9.30am
 Impala vs Mombasa 9.50am 

Menengai Oilers vs Mombasa 12.20pm
Impala vs Western Bulls 12.40pm 

Western Bulls vs Mombasa 3.10pm
Impala vs Oilers 3.30pm

Eric Njiru
Award-winning, bold, independent Rugby Journalist and Radio Presenter in Kenya, Southern Hemisphere with experience in Match-Day Reporting, News and Interviews. Covering Kenya 7s around the World. Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment