H Photo by Alex Njue
Prinsloo 7s Pool B: Kisumu, Homeboyz, Quins Team news
By Eric Njiru | Fri 20 Jul, 2018 14:54

Pool B of the 2018 Prinsloo 7s brings together Kenya Cup trio of Homeboyz, Kenya Harlequin and Blak Blad while Silverstone Kisumu RFC is the only championship side. 

Homeboyz are 2016 national sevens circuit while Kisumu are competing in Nakuru as an invitational side. 

Kenya Harlequin Patrice Agunda skippers the side to Nakuru with half-back Lyle Asiligwa being his vice. 

The likes of Brian Beckham, Edward Shitanda, ALex Magoma and Kevin Angote are named in the squad. Stanley Lunani returns from last year's side while Michare Habashi, Mike Ochieng and Joseph Kamau will be looking to make a mark in the national sevens circuit. 

1. Patrice Agunda (C) 2. Edward Shitanda 3. Hosea Nyerere 4. Lyle Asiligwa (Vc) 5. Brian Beckham 6. Alex Magoma 7. Dennis Otieno 8. Kevin Angote 9. Hilary Baraza 10. Michael Habashi 11. Stanley Lunani 12. Mike Ochieng 13. Joseph Kamau 

Homeboyz RFC
After winning the 2016 Prinsloo 7s, Homeboyz return to Nakuru with the hope of dethroning KCB. They are one of the favourites to win the 2018 national sevens circuit but that must start with a strong statement at Prinsloo 7s.

Humphrey Owuor, Charles Omondi, Alvin Otieno, Israel Soi, Leonard Mugaisi, Michael Wanjala and Stanley Isogol are the senior members of the squad while Bush Mwale will add his Kenya 7s experience to boost Paul Murunga's charges. 

Former Mean Machine star Richard Alai is named as player 13. Johnstone Olindi. Bryan Juma and Mark Wandeto are also named in the squad. 

1.Humphrey Owuor 2.Charles Omondi 3.Richard Alai 4.Bryan Juma 5.Johnstone Olindi 6.Alvin Otieno 7.Israel Soi 8.Leonard Mugaisi 9.Michael Wanjala 10.Stanley Isogol 11.Bush Mwale 12.Mark Wandeto 

Kisumu RFC
After an impressive run in the KRU Championship, Kisumu RFC will be looking to stay in the top division ahead of their home tournament, Dala 7s.

Auda Denva skippers the side with Simon Omondi, Billy Arigi and Mikey Odhiambo named in the squad.

1. Omondi Simon 
2. Osano Morris 3. Audo Denva (c) 4. Okoth Boniface 5. Arigi Billy 6. Odhiambo Mikey  7. Nyangina Buess 8. Wendo Anthony 9. Morgan Billy 10. Wanjala Alvin (vc) 11. Ndinya Denish 
12. Ganira Broline

Blak Blad squad to follow

Pool B Fixtures
Quins vs Blak Blad 10.10am
Homeboyz vs Kisumu 10.30am 

Quins vs Kisumu 1pm
Homeboyz vs Blak Blad 1.20pm 

Blak Blad vs Kisumu 3.50pm
Homeboyz vs Quins 4.10pm

Eric Njiru
Award-winning, bold, independent Rugby Journalist and Radio Presenter in Kenya, Southern Hemisphere. Experience in Match-Day Reporting, News and Interviews. Covering Kenya 7s around the World. Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment