S Photo by Skarra
Prinsloo 7s pool A: Machine, Strathmore, Mwamba name squads
By Eric Njiru | Fri 20 Jul, 2018 14:32

Strathmore Leos
John Oduk will skipper Strathmore Leos in Nakuru as they look to continue their Kenya Cup form into the Sevens circuit. 

Head coach John Mbai named George Orembo, Walter Otuke, Gideon Makumi, Alex Maina, Owen Otieno and Lucas Opal in his 13 man squad that will seek to come back with the Prinsloo 7s title. 

In 2017, Strathmore Leos reached cup semis only to lose 14-10 to eventual champions KCB and a step forward this season will mean a cup final. 

1.John Oduk (c) 2. Dennis Juma 3. Walter Otuke 4. Fanuel Aduda 5. Gabriel Odero 6. Philemon Olang 7. George Orembo 8. Lucas Oppal 9. Gideon Makumi 10. Alex Maina 11. Owen Otieno 12. Richard Omedo 13. Arnold Muita 

Mwamba RFC
Eliakim Kichoi will captain Stanbic Mwamba in this year’s Prinsloo 7s. Former skipper Brad Owako will be in the squad alongside Steve Sikuta, Ronnie Omondi, Matt Wanjia and Daniel Taabu.

Others that are on the bus to Nakuru are Greg Odhiambo, Lukes Obonyo, Martin Oyugi, Joel Inzuga, George Omolla and Brian Kivasia. The technical bench will be led by Kevin Wambua (Head Coach), Louis Kisia (assistant coach), Fahad Adil (Team Manager), Ben Mahinda (physio), Jeff Onyango (strength and conditioning) and Alphonce Mwachia. 

1.Eliakim Kichoi 2.Daniel Taabu 3.Brad Owako 4.Joel Inzuga 5.Greg Odhiambo 6.Brian Kivasia 7.George Omolla 8.Lukes Obonyo 9.Ronnie Omondi 10.Matt Wanjia 11.Martin Oyugi 12.Stephen Sikuta 13.Idriss Shariff * 

Mean Machine
Machine started very well in last season's circuit and head coach Ramsfield Matekwa is targeting at least three legs in 2018. Led by Shadon Munoko, the UoN side head to Nakuru knowing they can kick-start their journey to success by scooping the cup. 

Talisman Grevis Onyino, who was among the best players in the championship, is joined by Marvin Karungi, Alfred Orege, Victor Shavia, Valentine Odoyom Festus Shiasi and Marvin Karungi among others. 

1.Shadon Munoko 2.Grevis Onyino 3.Isaac Waweru 4.Marvin Karungi 5.Erick Muthama 6.Alfred Orege 7.Victor Shavia 8.Brian Marube 9.Edward Omundo 10.Valentine Odoyo 11.Festus Shiasi 12.Nick Mutura 

Kabras SQUAD to follow 

Pool A Fixtures
Strathmore vs Mwamba RFC 10.50am
Kabras Sugar vs Mean Machine 11.10am 

Strathmore vs Mean Machine 1.40pm
Kabras Sugar vs Mwamba 2pm 

Mwamba vs Mean Machine 4.30pm
Kabras vs Strathmore 4.50pm

Eric Njiru
Award-winning, bold, independent Rugby Journalist and Radio Presenter in Kenya, Southern Hemisphere. Experience in Match-Day Reporting, News and Interviews. Covering Kenya 7s around the World. Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment