R Photo credit - RVA
Prescott Cup to announce sponsor
By Patrick Korir | Fri 04 May, 2018 14:32

A sponsorship announcement with schools participating in 2018 Prescott Cup as well as Damu Pevu will be made known during a function at the St. Mary's School on Saturday 5 May starting 10.30am.

The Saturday announcement will act as a tune up and launch to the action earmarked to kick off from Saturday 12 May.

Also read Unbeaten Upper Hill retains Prescott Cup

Up to 30 schools will take part in the competition this year; ten each in Prescott Cup, Damu Pevu and in the newly introduced Damu Pevu II. 1,000 players, or thereabout, will take part across the three tiers with 110 games expected to take place. 

Back-to-back champions Upper Hill School spearhead pool A that also has Nairobi School, Ofafa Jericho, Muhuri Muchiri and Strathmore School. Rift Valley Academy (RVA), Alliance High School, Mangu High, Lenana School and promoted St. Mary's School are in pool B. The junior sides of the same schools are banded similarly and will contest Damu Changa.

Also read St. Mary's return to Prescott Cup

Another ten schools will lock horns in Damu Pevu that acts as a lower pyramid to the Prescott Cup. It promotes its winning team to the Prescott Cup and takes in the relegated school from the top contest.

Thika High, Pioneer, Kiambu High, Jamhuri High and relegated Githiga High will contest pool A while Moi Forces Academy, Aquinas High, Sunshine High, Highway and Dagoretti High make up pool B.

Also read Bandits survive Prescott Cup relegation

Damu Pevu II will see the return of 2014 Prescott Cup champions Laiser Hill Academy who will highlight pool B. They never returned to the Prescott Cup since their maiden win. 

Other teams in this group includes Parklands, Kayole Youth,  Light Academy and Kangemi Secondary. Raila Education Centre, Garden Estate, Kahuho and Uhuru Secondary as well as Langata High will contest pool B. 

The winning side from Damu Pevu II will scale upward to Damu Pevu in 2019.


To run the events for the year is a committee selected by schools in recent weeks. 

Mwangi Karimi of Alliance High chairs the committee. He will be assisted by James Kaili of Ofafa Jericho. Kombo Kikechi of Muhuri Muchiri is the Secretary while Alfred Okwemba of Thika High takes up the Tournament Director's role.

Gregory Sang from St. Mary's and Maurice Okumu of Upper Hill are committee members. Nicholas Abala, of the Age Grade & Development docket will represent the Kenya Rugby Union.

Ragahouse learns that part of the proposition for this years' games in the three tiers is to co-locate  activities at a single venue each weekend rather than the individualised mid-week home and away basis as has been the case recently. Would-be sponsors can then leverage on the confluence of numbers for economic win-wins. 

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment