P Getty Images
Portugal, Spain confirmed for Safari 7s
By Eric Njiru | Tue 16 Oct, 2018 09:33

Seven teams have so far confirmed their participation in this year’s Safari 7s set for November 9-11 in Nairobi, Kenya.

The Kenya Rugby Union on Tuesday named seven teams that are expected to compete in Nairobi alongside two Kenya 7s teams.

Spain, Portugal and Samurai Rugby lead the list that has University of Jo’burg, Uganda Cranes, Red Wailers and Apache Sevens.

Safari Sevens is making a return after a one year break - called off last year due to electioneering in the country. This years edition was officially launched in August with KRU announcing a list of international teams had been invited. 

Kenya 7s will be using the tournament as preps for the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2019 which will kick off in Dubai on 30-1 December, 2018, before teams move on to Cape Town in South Africa the following week.  

Kenya 7s are the Safari 7s defending champions courtesy of their win in 2016 where they beat Samurai 38-21 at Kasarani Stadium. 

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Leave a comment