P World Rugby
Papua New Guinea qualify for first RWC Sevens
By Raga House | Mon 13 Nov, 2017 09:02

Two more qualifiers have been confirmed for Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018 in San Francisco with Papua New Guinea's men and women booking their tickets through the Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship in Suva, Fiji.

They will join the men's and women's teams of New Zealand, Australia and Fiji as well as Samoa's men at the showpiece tournament, which takes place at AT&T Park in San Francisco, USA, from 20-22 July next year.

One further men's qualifier from Oceania will be confirmed following the Pacific Mini Games in Vanuatu in December.


Papua New Guinea's women, lead by Joanne Lagona, wrote their names into the history books as their nation's first Rugby World Cup Sevens qualifiers after day one at ANZ Stadium in Suva, guaranteeing their position as the highest ranked team behind the already qualified New Zealand, Australia and Fiji by joining the trio in the semi-finals.

They were joined by their male counterparts a day later after they overwhelmed the Cook Islands 32-0 in the fifth place play-off to finish behind champions Fiji, New Zealand, Australia - who they had narrowly lost 22-21 to in the quarter-finals - and Samoa.

RWC Sevens qualification was just one prize, though, for the Papua New Guinea men and women as they will now play as the invitational team in the Oceania rounds of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2018, both at the HSBC Sydney Sevens on 26-28 January and the men also at the inaugural HSBC NZ Sevens in Hamilton a week later.

They will also both play in the series qualifiers in Hong Kong in April from which one team will secure core team status on the 2019 series. The Cook Islands will also represent Oceania in the men's qualifier.

Courtesy World Rugby 

Raga House
Leave a comment