S The Three Quarters Podcast
Nondies, Leos ready for face-off at Floodies
By Eric Njiru | Fri 12 Oct, 2018 09:31

Up to three players are up for their maiden Strathmore Leos appearance on Saturday against Nondies in the quarters of the Impala Floodlit tournament set to kick off at the Impala grounds starting 4.10pm.

Arnold Omollo, Mathews Matiiri and Jeff Geoffrey were all named in the Leos matchday 23 by head coach John Mbai as they look to start the 15s season on a high.

Gabriel Adero captains Leos with Lucas Opal and Gideon Makumi named as half-backs of the day.

For the debutantes, they have showed good promise at training. And it is a good time to give them a test at the top,” said Mbai.

Leos were Plate semifinalists in last year’s Floodies where they lost to Quins while Nondies make a return to the competition after missing out in 2017. 

“ Nondies are a quality side. Under the tutelage of Coach Foxy (Willis Ojal) who is a good tactician they have become more consistent and improved their win record in both the longer and shorter versions of the game.”

“They will be a tough opponent and we have to be at our best to get a positive result,” added Mbai.

Up to five players will be making their first appearance for Nondies. They include lock Brian Njenga, backrower Steve Odhiambo, midfielder Felix Augustine and fullback Ivan Chebo who are named in the starting line up.

William Odhiambo will make his debut from the bench that has 2016 Prescott Cup winning captain Phares Mbadi who is looking to get his career going since joining from Upper Hill.

Flanker Japheth Otieno skippers Nondies with fly-half Martin Juma set to deputise him.

Strathmore Leos
1.Barry Guda 2.Silas Aziz 3.Andrew Okot 4.Aduda Fanuel 5.Austine Mboya 6.Barnabas Owuor 7.Olang Philemon 8.Gabriel Adero (C) 9.Gideon Makumi 10.Lucas Opal 11.Albert Obura 12.Richard Omedo 13. Walter Oteku 14.Alex Maina 15.Matoka Matoka 

16. Dedan Maurice 17.Arnold Omollo * 18. Mohamed Abdi 19.Antony Ambani 20. Mathews Matiiri* 21.Arnold Muita 22.Jeff Geoffrey* 23.John Juma

1. Stephen Darunga 2. Francis Mutuku 3. Ian Njenga 4. Brian Sinei 5. Brian Njenga* 6. Clive Akello 7. Japheth Otieno (c) 8. Steve Odhiambo* 9. Saidi Sumba 10. Martin Juma (vc) 11. Brian Oyando 12. Mark Ongayo 13. Felix Augustine* 14. Daniel Okito 15. Chebo Ivan*

16. Duncan Okwako 17. Ernest Ngong 18. Fredrick Muga 
19. Henry Fulbright 20. Brian Otieno 21. Eric Gitau 22. William Odhiambo * 23. Phares Mbadi 

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment