Anthony Martial Photo by KRU
New Zealand wins Third consecutive Wellington 7s
By Eric Njiru | Sun 31 Jan, 2016 11:22

New Zealand won the third consecutive Wellington 7s on Sunday with a 24-21 win over South Africa at Westpac Stadium.

Phillip Snyman scored the first try for South Africa after receiving a pass from e Jong who also made the conversion.

South Arica was at it again with Rosco Specman making it 12-0 after initiating a good move to force a scrum on the New Zealand line.

Within four minutes the hosts had made five errors even though they returned to the game through Akira Ioane’s try after a wide pass from the penalty found him.

Specman was about to extend the lead before half time but a desperate defence and great tackle by Ione ensured things remain 14-7.

Seabelo Senatla returned in the second half with his 109th try before Rasko Specaman was sent to the sinbin.

Rieko Ione scored two consecutive tries to make it 19-21 and South Africa’s desire to add the scores ended up being a set-back as Joe Webber caught their shaky defence unaware to give his nation the all important try.

Akira Ione was voted the player of the final.


Eric Njiru 0726205521
Leave a comment