N World Rugby
New Zealand are RWC 7s champions
By Raga House | Mon 23 Jul, 2018 04:16

New Zealand created history at AT&T Park in San Francisco, USA on Monday morning after seeing off England 33-12 in the final of the 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens to become the first nation to win back-to-back titles. 

In the process the Commonwealth games rugby 7s Gold medalist become the first country to lift the Melrose Cup on three occasions adding on to their 2001 title in Mar Del Plata, Argentina. 

Also read New Zealand retain Women's Rugby 7s title

It was the second straight World Cup that New Zealand met England in the final and just as was the case in Moscow in 2013, New Zealand completed the double with the Black Ferns Sevens having won the women's crown on Saturday evening in San Francisco. 

Then, New Zealand won 33-0 and the outcome on Monday night was ultimately the same with New Zealand matching their tally of 33 points from that day. 

New Zealand led 14-7 at half time before stretching away to the World Cup Gold. To have romped to their second successive final, New Zealand beat South Africa 29-7 in the semis as England edged out a strong Fiji side 22-17. 

Sione Molia grabbed a brace repeating what Tim Mikkelson had done five years ago. Molia had given the All Blacks Sevens the dream start after shrugging off England captain Tom Mitchell's tackle to race under the posts inside the first minute. His second came from much closer range, Molia simply reaching over the line from a breakdown on the England line. 

Dan Norton, one of four survivors from England's loss in Moscow in their 2018 squad, gave England hope when he broke on the stroke of half-time and enabled Mike Ellery to run round under the posts to make it 14-7 at the break. 

New Zealand lost Molia to a head injury assessment at half-time, but they edged further ahead when Joe Ravouvou scored his sixth try of the tournament – enough to share the HSBC Top Try Scorer award with South Africa flyer Siviwe Soyizwapi. 

Ruaridh McConnochie hit back instantly for England after good work by Ollie Lindsay-Hague and TUDOR Breakthrough Player of the Tournament Harry Glover. That proved only a temporary setback for New Zealand as tries from Akuila Rokolisoa and Trael Joass touching down to ensure the celebrations could begin early. 

New Zealand co-captain Mikkelson, part of both 2013 and 2018 successes along with Kurt Baker, said: “We knew coming in it was going to be tough. We nearly got knocked out by France but raised it against Fiji. Credit to the coaching staff, the coach brought the boys together. We didn’t get the results but we kept on working. 

Bronze for South Africa

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series champions South Africa recovered from the disappointment of their semi-final loss to beat Fiji 24-19 to claim the bronze medal, the Blitzboks' best finish at a RWC Sevens since they lost to the same opponents in the 1997 final in Hong Kong. 

Captain Philip Snyman and Soyizwapi were among South Africa's try scorers as they established a 22-7 lead over the side they pipped to the series crown in Paris last month. 

Fiji never really recovered from the disappointment of losing their semi-final to New Zealand but did finish strongly with tries by Semi Radradra and Josua Tuisova. 

Argentina fifth 

Argentina finished their campaign with a flourish, powering past hosts USA 33-7 to claim fifth place after Jamie Farndale had scored two late tries to help Scotland come from behind to beat France 29-24 in the battle for seventh place. 

Meanwhile, Ireland won the Challenge after overcoming Australia and Chile beat Hong Kong to win the Bowl.

Complete 2018 Rugby World Cup results

Finals - Sunday/Monday July 22/23, 2018

Bowl 23/24: Zimbabwe 33 Jamaica 21

Bowl 21/22: Tonga 14 Papua New Guinea 31

Bowl 19/20: Uganda 38 Uruguay 28

Bowl Final: Chile 20 Hong Kong 7

Challenge 15/16: Kenya 14 Japan 26

Challenge 13/14: Canada 12 Wales 35

Challenge 11/12 Samoa 22 Russia 17

Challenge trophy final: Australia 14 Ireland 24

Championship 7/8 place: Scotland 29 France 24 (Extra time)

Championship 5/6 place: USA 7 Argentina 33

Bronze final: South Africa 24 Fiji 19

Championship final: England 12 New Zealand 33

Semi finals

Bowl 21/24 placing; Tonga 31 Zimbabwe 5, Papua New Guinea 52 Jamaica 7

Bowl Semis: Chile 20 Uganda 17, Uruguay 5 Hong Kong 31

Challenge 13/16 place: Kenya 17 Samoa 19, Japan 20 Russia 26

Challenge Trophy semis: Canada 7 Australia 19, Ireland 27 Wales 12

Championship 5/8: Scotland 0 USA 28, Argentina 26 France 15

Cup semis: South Africa 7 England 29, Fiji 17 New Zealand 22

Pre-round of 16 results - Friday July 20

1. Kenya 19 Tonga 7 
2. Canada 29 Papua New Guinea 21 
3. France 50 Jamaica 0 
4. Wales 33 Zimbabwe 12 
5. Samoa 45 Uganda 7 
6. Russia 21 Hong Kong 7 
7. Japan 33 Uruguay 7
8. Ireland 17 Chile 12

Round of 16

9. Scotland 31 Kenya 26
10. Argentina 28 Canada 0
11. Australia 17 France 22
12. England 19 Samoa 15
13. New Zealand 29 Russia 5
14. Fiji 35 Japan 10
15. South Africa 45 Ireland 7
16. USA 35 Wales 0

Bowl Quarterfinals - Saturday July 21

Tonga 29 Chile 33
Papua New Guinea 19 Uruguay 21
Jamaica 10 Hong Kong 24
Zimbabwe 10 Uganda 24

Sunday July 22, Challenge trophy quarters  

Kenya 14 Ireland 24
Canada 35 Japan 17
Australia 41 Russia 0
Wales 24 Samoa 19

Cup quarterfinal
Scotland 5 South Africa 36
Argentina 7 Fiji 43
France 7 New Zealand 12
USA 19 England 24

Raga House
Related Articles
Leave a comment