H Stanbic 7s
National Sevens Circuit returns
By Raga House | Tue 25 Jan, 2022 09:21

The National Sevens Circuit returns after a two year hiatus in May 2022.   The COVID-19 pandemic and disruption of sporting activities contributed to its absence in 2020 and 2021.

This year’s circuit will again encompass six rounds starting with the opening two legs on consecutive weekends in Nairobi before heading to Kakamega, Mombasa, Kisumu and Nakuru for the subsequent legs.

The George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial Sevens will get the circuit underway on 7/8 May, paving way for the Christie Sevens on 14/15 May at the RFUEA Ground.

There will be a week’s break before the Western Kenya town of Kakamega hosts the Kakamega Sevens on 28/29 May, paving way for the Driftwood Sevens in Mombasa a week later.

Teams will then head to Kisumu for the Dala Sevens on 18/19 June before winding up with the Prinsloo Sevens in Nakuru on 25/26 June. 

First played in 1999,The National Sevens Circuit is an annual series of  rugby sevens tournaments run by the Kenya Rugby Union in conjunction with host clubs featuring teams from across the country. Teams compete for the National Sevens Circuit title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament.

National Sevens Circuit 2022 Schedule

Leg 1            7th-8th May 2022George Mwangi Kabeberi Sevens 

Leg 2            14th-15th May 2022Christie Sevens, Nairobi 

Leg 3            28th-29th May 2022Kakamega 7s, Kakamega 

Leg 4            4th-5th June 2022Driftwood Sevens, Mombasa 

Leg 5            18th-19th June 2022Dala Sevens, Mombasa 

Leg 6           25th-26th June 2022Prinsloo Sevens, Nakuru

-KRU Media

Raga House
Leave a comment