K Photo by Alex Njue
National 7s circuit rules, dates
By Raga House | Mon 16 Jul, 2018 14:25

2018 National Sevens Circuit kicks off on Saturday July 21 with Prinsloo 7s in Nakuru hosted by Top Fry Nakuru RFC, a Kenya Cup side. 

 The circuit division 1 will be a 16-team tournament in a league format comprising of 12 top teams based on ranking from a previous tournament. 

The winner of division two of an immediate tournament(Dala 7s 2017) and three invitational sides in each tournament will join the 12 teams.

The 13th, 14th, 15th and 16th placed teams at the completion of each leg will be relegated. These are the four teams that lose their challenge trophy quarters matches. 

After Prinsloo 7s, action will move to Eldoret for Sepetuka 7s hosted by Homeboyz before taking a two-week break. Kabeberi 7s will make it's debut in Machakos on Saturday August 18 with Mombasa's Driftwood 7s set to follow a week later. 

There will be a one-week break between Driftwood 7s and Dala 7s on Sep 9. Christie 7s on Sep 15 hosted by Kenya Harlequin will be the last leg on the circuit.

National Sevens Circuit Venues & Dates
Nakuru: Prinsloo Sevens: 21st /22nd July – Nakuru Athletic Club
Eldoret: Sepetuka Sevens: 28th/29th July – Eldoret Sports Club

Machakos: Kabeberi Sevens: 18th/19th August – Kenyatta Stadium
Mombasa: Driftwood Sevens: 25th/26th August – Mombasa Sports Club 

Kisumu: Dala Sevens: 8th/9th September – Mamboleo Showground
Nairobi: Christie Sevens: 15th/16th September – RFUEA Ground

Circuit Point system 
1.Cup final winner 22
2.Cup final runner-up 19
3.Bronze winner 17
4.Playoff loser 15
5.5th place winner 13
6.5th place final loser 12
7&8. 5th place semifinal losers 10
9.Challenge trophy winner 8
10.Challenge trophy final loser 7
11&12. Challenge trophy semi losers 5
13.13th place final winner 3
14.13th place final loser 2
15&16. 13th place semi losers 1

Raga House
Leave a comment