M Mets 7s
Nairobi nationwide sides create new sevens circuit
By Eric Njiru | Tue 12 Apr, 2022 21:42

Nationwide sides in the Nairobi Metropolitan area are set for a new sevens circuit dubbed the Nairobi metro development sevens circuit to run from April 2 to May 21, 2022. 

The new circuit will kick off with Met 7s on Saturday April 16, 2022 at RFUEA Grounds hosted by Nairobi Nationwide side Stingerz RFC. 

"The tournament will be used as a development forum to identify talent and grow the game of rugby in Kenya, " said Hans Magwilu, tournament vice-chairman. 

"The mindset behind the tournament is to select a team that will take part in the National Sevens Circuit for the 2022 season. The tournament will take place annually and will have senior men’s and women’s as well as age grade rugby. The tournament will comprise of 12 teams from across Nairobi County."

The Nairobi metro development sevens circuit is a 5-tournament circuit that will see Kiambu County, Makueni, Nairobi, Kajiado and Machakos host legs. 

"In collaboration with the Kenya rugby union, we will use this circuit to come up with a team of the tournament that will be used as a select side to represent Nairobi region in the national circuit," added Magwilu.

Stormers RFC, Stingerz,  Makueni RFC, Comras and Kiambu RFC will host the legs. Other participating teams include Ngong Warriors, Tigers Rugby, Bulldogs RFC, NYS, Stingerz Select and Zetech while Blak Blad will be a guest team. 

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment