M Photo by Alex Njue
Mwamba set for Safari 7s
By Eric Njiru | Wed 07 Nov, 2018 10:46

National sevens circuit runners up Mwamba RFC becomes the second Kenyan club to be confirmed for this weekend’s Safari 7s to be held at RFUEA Grounds from November 9-11.

A statement from the official club’s website said “Kenya Rugby Union has invited Kulabu to join 2018 National Sevens Circuit winners Homeboyz in the annual tournament. Kulabu finished second in the series.”

Raga House understands Mwamba will replace Burkina Faso in the initial 12 team list that had been released last week by KRU. The African side pulled out on Monday.

Mwamba has gone ahead to named a 12-man squad for the Safaris with Louis Kisia named as the coach since head coach Kevin Wambua will be coaching the national side.

“The team will be coached by Louis Kisia and will be missing a number of stars who are with the national sevens team. The team will be captained by Brian Kivasia deputised by Steve Sikuta.”

“The team will have new boys Elvis Namusasi, Kibiwott Cheruiyot (joining in from Embu RFC) and Nicholas Wamburu.”

Series winners Homeboyz are the other Kenyan side that will compete at the Safari 7s.

 Mwamba RFC squad
1. Stephen Sikuta. 2. Alex Aturo. 3. George Omolla 4. Martin Oyugi. 5. Elvis Namusasi. 6. Joel Inzuga. 7. Brian Kivasia. 8. Mike Okello. 9. Kibiwott Cheruyiot. 10. Charles Chege. 11. Nicholas Wamburu * 12. Felix Otieno.

13. Louis Kisia – Coach 14. Alphonce Mwachia – TM 15. Levis -Physio

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Leave a comment