Minjire, Motari make Impala's Driftwood 7s squad
By Eric Njiru | Thu 31 Aug, 2017 09:47

Winger Ian Minjire will make a comeback from injury this weekend as he is named in the Impala Saracens squad to Driftwood 7s.

Minjire last;y featured for Impala in the 2015/2016 Kenya Cup season helping the team reach the final but would later be ruled out with an injury and school commitments.

Leon Adongo will skipper the Impala side with winger George Okowa being the vice captain as Samuel Motari also makes a return.

The Singapore 7s winner also missed a whole season due to an injury.

Davies  Makori, Joash Ngesa, Paul Mutsami, Joel Omer, Richard Sidindi, Robin Kiplangat and Billy Omondi make the squad.

In clarifying selection criteria to our media team, Head Coach – Frank Ndong told impalasaracens.com that, “Our basis was on current form and not history. The 13 players on the travelling list are those who are in their prime and have checked all boxes on our preparedness checklist. I am pleased with preparedness and hope for a beautiful result from Driftwood 7s.”

As Hannington Ambaka, Paul Oimbo, Antony Nyandigisi and Quinto Ongo are named as non-traveling subs, Kenya 7s international Sammy Oliech misses out due to national team commitments.

The Kabeberi 7s defending champions are in pool C with KCB, Mean Machine and Mombasa.

Resolution Impala Saracens team to Driftwood 7s

1. Davies Makori 2. Leon Adongo (C) 3. Ian Minjire 4. Joash Ngesa 5. Paul Mustami 6. Joel Omer 7. Richard Sidindi 8. Ian Mabwa 9. Robin Kiplangat 10. George Okowa (Vc) 11. Samuel Motari (Utility) 12. Billy Omondi 13. Mark Kwemoi

Non Travelling Reserves
Hannington Ambaka Paul Oimbo Anthony Nyandigisi Quinto Ongo

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Leave a comment