Menengai Oilers see off Egerton Wasps on Sat 13 May to be crowned the 2017 Nationwide champions Credit - Menengai Oilers
Menengai Oilers are Nationwide CHAMPIONS
By Eric Njiru | Sat 13 May, 2017 19:00

Menengai Oilers have won the national Nationwide league by beating Egerton Wasps 17-8 in the final on Saturday May 13, 2017 at the ASK Showground, Nakuru.

Oilers also completes the campaign unbeaten and have only conceded three tries through out the season where they were making their debut. 

Huge achievement 

Both sides gain promotion to the Championship league, Kenya' second tier league, where they have a chance of getting a Kenya Cup promotion. 

Daniel Abounji and Rodgers Audi made the touch downs in the win with Abounji converting both tries and a penalty. 

Speaking after the win, Oilers head coach Gibson Weru said, "This is a huge achievement for the team and going unbeaten as well as conceding only three tries. We've worked hard for this and we are looking forward to the Championship."

"We are ready for the Championship and we will start planning from now because our goal is to win it. It's ambitious but very much achievable with the kind of technical effort and support we receive."

For a place in the final, Oilers had seen off host - and Nairobi champions Ngong RFC 8-0 in the semis last weekend as Egerton Wasps took out MKU Nairobi 30-10 in the last four. 


1. Rashid Shimoka 2. Hughes Anjera  3. Antony Apiyo 4. Javan Odhiambo 5. Emmanuel Odera 6. Billy Kizito 7. Harold Ojango (Captain) 8. Rodgers Audi, 9. Dennis Mwangi 10. Amos Onyinkwa  11. Samuel Muregi 12. Victor Matiko 13. Eric Ombasa 14. Peter Wanjala 15. Dan Abuongi, 

Subs: 16. Kevin Mokuyani 17. Brian Ramah Miller 18. Vincent Oduor 19. Jeff Memeti 20. Hassan Juma 21. Clinton Odhiambo 22. Steve Ochieng 23. Blastas Juma.

Coach: Gibson Weru, Assistant: Richmond Barasa, TM: Ben Kamau Mburu, S&C: Nicky Lango

Eric Njiru
[email protected] 0726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment