J Lens Eye Images
McGreevy set for Quins senior debut, Shtindo captains Oilers
By Eric Njiru | Fri 15 Mar, 2019 12:00

Kenya Under 20’s James McGreevy is set to make his Kenya Cup debut for Kenya Harelequin when they host Menengai Oilers in the 13th round of the 2018/19 Kenya Cup at RFUEA on Sat March 16.

McGreevy has been playing for the ESS side since joining from Kenya Cup rivals Homeboyz earlier this season.

Head Coach Charles Cardovillis named McGreevy alongside Pius Shiundu, Lyle Asiligwa, Kevin Angote, Mike Onsando, Melvin Thairu, Frank Kalwale and Elisha Koronya on the bench.

"He has been very impressive," said Cardovillis. "A player with a good set of skills, loads of pace and can only get better. He's earned his place on the Kenya Cup side."

From the squad that beat Mwamba last time out, props Edward Oseko and Paul Kioko are replaced Bonface Ochieng and Ayub Kimutai respectively while George Odipo starts ahead of Tony Mutai who is not in the matchday 23.

Ugandan Daudi Semwami starts on the wing replacing Aluda Beda while Eric Shikuku is at fullback since Asiligwa is on the bench.

Oilers named Abutalu Wesonga as the day's first five-eighth with Emman Okwako being second five-eighth. Davis Nyaundi is at fullback while Derrick Keyoga and Derrick Mbaire are on the wings. 

Quins and Oilers met on matchday two of this campaign with Oilers managing 14-8 win in Nakuru but both sides have had different performances since then. Quins sit third with 42 points while Oilers are ninth with 20 points.

1. Brian Obwaya 2. Bonface Ochieng 3. Ayub Kimutai 4. George Odipo 5. Hilary Baraza 6. Patrice Agunda 7. Edward Shitanda 8. Peter Misango - C 9. Dominic Osino 10. Eden Agero 11. Daudi Semwami 12. Jasper Ochen 13. David Ambunya (Vc) 14. Iddi Kakai 15. Erick Shikuku

16. Frank Kalwale 17. Elisha Koronya 18. Melvin Thairu 19. Mike Onsando 20. Kevin Angote 21. Lyle Asiligwa 22. James McGreevy* 23. Pius Shiundu * 

Menengai Oilers

1. Francis Atiti 2. Hillary Malweyi 3. Rashid Shimoka 4. Emmanuel Odera 5. Clinton Odhiambo 6. Nickson Ochieng 7. Chrispine Shitindo - C 8. Aziz Annan 9. Andrew Odero 10. Abutali Wesonga 11. Derrick Mbaire 12. Emman Okwako 13. Austin Sikutwa 14. Derrick Keyoga 15. Davis Nyaundi 

16. Kelvin Mokoyani 17. Vincent Mwikali 18. Vincent Oduor 19. Brian Ndirangu 20. Rodgers Audi 21. Amos Onyinkwa 22. Theophilus Lusangalu 23. Peter Wanjala.

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment