I Photo by Mwamba
'Majei', Motari make Impala's 2017 sevens squad
By Eric Njiru | Wed 23 Aug, 2017 15:23

Impala Saracens has released a 22-man squad set to do duty in the opening leg of the national sevens circuit.

12 players will be selected from the group as a series of fitness tests and analytical consultations within the technical bench saw five players dropped from the provisional squad.

Singapore 7s winner Samuel Motari is part of the squad alongside Ian Minjire and Robert 'Majei' Aringo who return for the first time since 2015 after healing injuries.

Winger Quinto Oongo, George Okowa, Robin Kiplagat, Joel Omer, Richard Sidindi, Paul Mutsami, Davis Makoru, Mark Kwemoi and Antony Nyandigisi make the squad to be captained by Leon Adongo. 

A statement from the squad said Kenya 7s duo of Derrick Mayar and Samuel Oliech could feature for the team on an availability basis while Lameck Dunde who studies in Italy could also feature for the team when available. 

Ranier Omondi, Isaiah Wafula, Douglas Ochako and former Kenya U19 captain Tyson Okoth are unlikely to feature for the team.

Impala recently took part in a sevens mini-tournamnet beating Menengai Oilers 24-7, Catholic Monks 24-7, Strathmore 24-0, Nondies 29-5 and lost 19-14 to Homeboyz.

Coach Nick Abok told impalasaracens.com that “The elections break posed a great challenge to us especially on matters consistency in fitness but the boys came back & adapted really well to training intensity.

Last year we broke a ceiling by winning the Kabeberi 7s leg of the circuit. Other teams will naturally come hard at us this year and we therefore have to step up. We want to top the circuit but our focus is still on winning one leg at a time.”

Resolution Impala Saracens 2017 Sevens Circuit Squad:

1.Joash Ngesa 2. Ian Minjire 3. Timothy Makiya 4. Kevin Ouma 5. Quinto Ongo 6. William Omondi 7. George Okowa 8. Michael Ochieng 9. Leon Adongo 10. David Moenga 11. Robin Kiplagat 12. Joel Omer 13. Richard Sidindi 14. Paul Mutsami 15. Ian Mabwa 16. Samuel Motari 17. Davis Makori 18. Hannington Ambaka 19. Paul Oimbo 20.Anthony Nyandigisi 21. Mark Kwemoi 22. Robert Aringo. 

Material derived from impalasaracens.com

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Leave a comment