I Acre-Half images: Action between Impala and Mwamba
Kulabu, Impala set for exhilarating playoffs battle
By Eric Njiru | Fri 21 Feb, 2020 11:31
Eight points separate Impala, 4th on 42, and Mwamba, 6th on 34, heading to the penultimate round of the 2019/20 Kenya Cup at Railways Club on Sat Feb 22.
Some of the changes made by head coach Kevin Wambua before he leaves for LA 7s see Salaton Muturi return to the side in place of injured Brian Kahura at hooker and he will be propped by Eugene Sudi and Jonah Mbari on either side, according to MwambaRugby.com.

Andrew Chogo and George Omolla slot in the locks with experienced trio of Tony Owuor (blindside), Stephen Sikuta (openside) and Edwin Machanje completing the back row.

First leg ended 26-24 to Impala and this promises a lot in store on Saturday afternoon at Railways Club.

Duncan Ekasi leads the Gazelles with winger Bill Omondi named as the vice-captain by head coach Mitch Ochola. X and Antony Odhiambo are the day’s halfbacks, Alvin Marube on the open wing and Quinto Oongo at fullback.

Samuel Motari, Davis Makori, Ian Masheti, Kenneth Murangiri, Carlwilliam Odhiambo, Dennis Juma and Stephen Keter will hope to make an impact from the bench.
Final round of matches will see Mwamba head to Nondies and Impala host Kisumu RFC who may be relegated by then.

15. Ronnie Omondi 14. Michael Okello 13. Michael Agevi 12. Patrick Ruhiu © 11. Alex Aturo 10. Brian Mwangi 9. Eugene Nzioka 1. Eugene Sudi 2. Salaton Muturi 3. Jonah Mbari 4. Andrew Chogo 5. George Omolla 6. Tony Owuor 7. Stephen Sikuta (VC) 8. Edwin Machanje

16. Thomas Soteri 17. James Yuko 18. Deus Mudaki 19. Paul Wahome 20. Christopher Asira 21. Martin Oyugi 22. Joel Inzuga 23. Sabala Tendwa

Impala Saracens:
15. Quinto Ongo 14. Alvin Marube 13. Israel Soi 12. Ishmael Mokaya 11. Bill Omondi - *V.C* 10. Anthony Odhiambo 9. Xavier Kipn'getich 1. Soita Wekesa 2. Girvens Onyango 3. Brian Ochieng 4. Michael Gitau 5. Eric Kerre 6. Elkeans Musonye 7. Cosmas Valentino 8. Dancun Ekasi - *Captain*

16. Kenneth Murangiri 17. Nesta Okotch 18. Ian Masheti 19. Davis Makori 20. Carlwilliam Odhiambo 21. Dennis Juma 22. Stephen Keter 23. Samuel Motari

Eric Njiru
Award-winning, bold, independent Rugby Journalist and Radio Presenter in Kenya, Southern Hemisphere with experience in Match-Day Reporting, News and Interviews. Covering Kenya 7s around the World. Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment