M Ministry of Rugby
KRU makes turn-around to proceed with elections; Ndale, Mugambi elected
By Eric Njiru | Tue 06 Sep, 2022 22:11

Kenya Rugby Union affiliates made a turn-around on Tuesday to proceed with voting after Rugby Afrique observer Paula Lanco advised on risks associated with postponing the elections again. 

Oscar Mango garnered 23 votes to retain his seat as a director with Leslie Njenga of Stingers earning 16 votes to become a first time KRU director.  Hilary Itela was voted out getting 15 votes with Chege coming fourth on 6 votes. 

Moses Ndale was elected KRU vice-chairman after earning 20 votes to beat outgoing director Peris Mukoko who got 11. Ian Mugambi retained Hon Secretary on 18 votes against Ray Olendo’s 13.

The KRU had resolved to postpone the elections by 14 days only to be told failure to hold elections would risk Kenya getting suspended by World Rugby.

The quagmire was whether counties would be allowed to vote as per the sports act 2013 despite the KRU constitution only giving voting powers to the clubs. The affiliates took a vote to allow counties to take part in the voting. 

The voting kicked off at 9:10pm on Tuesday at RFUEA grounds

KRU was advised by Rugby Afrique observer Paula Lanco to avoid going the Nigerian way where they risk going into a caretaker committee which would see World Rugby suspend the Union. That would mean no HSBC World Sevens for Kenya 7s or World Cup for Kenya Simbas/Lioness/Chipu. 

Sports registrar Rose Wasike- who was in attendance- advised that elections should be held by November.

Affiliated Clubs
AP, Blak Blad,  Bungoma, Comras, Egerton, Eldoret, Embu, Homeboyz, Kabras, KCB, Kisumu RFC, Masaku, Maseno Saints, MMUST, Mbale, Menengai Oilers, Moi University, Mombasa RFC, Nakuru RFC, Siaya, South Coast Pirates, Stingaz, Western Bulls, Mwamba

Affiliated Counties: Bungoma, Embu, Kajiado, Kakamega, Kiambu, Kisumu, Kwale, Meru, Mombasa, Nairobi, Nakuru, Siaya, Uasin Gishu, Vihiga

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment