Kilonzo, Ndale return as KRU votes in new directors
By Eric Njiru | Wed 20 Mar, 2019 18:29

John Kilonzo was on Wednesday 20 March 2019, elected back to the board of Kenya Rugby Union as a director during the 2019 Annual General Meeting (AGM) held at Quins.

Kilonzo got 32 votes to see his way back after losing the seat in 2018. He comes back alongside Moses Ndale, 26 votes, who also lost vice-chairmanship to Thomas Opiyo in 2018. 

Ray Olendo, incharge of national squads and elite performance, was the only director to defend his title after getting 28 votes as Ian Mugambi, 23 votes, and Ezekiel Owuor, 22 votes, all ranked outside the top four and are therefore out of the KRU board. 

Nationwide side Comras and Muhuri Muchiri's Mwalimu Kikechi Kombo is the new face at the KRU board having been elected as the fourth director with 25 votes. 

The new directors will serve for a period of four years (2019-2023) as per the KRU constitution.

Directors already serving their term up to 2022 are Oscar Mango and Hillary Itela alongside vice-chairman Thomas Opiyo and Treasurer Joshua Aroni.

They were elected on the same day as new chairman Oduor Gangla who had 33 votes, 13 more than second placed Sasha Mutai. Asiko Owiro came third in the chairman's race with two votes. 

Directors votes (Unofficial)
1.John Kilonzo 32
2.Ray Olendo 28
3.Moses Ndale 26
4.Kikechi Kombo- 25 

. .
5.Ian Mugambi- 23
6.Ezekiel Owuor 22
7.Ken Thimba 18
8.Sarah Otieno 5
9.Peris Mukoko 13
10.Angela Olum -10

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment