H Lens Eye Images
Kichoi back for Mwamba, Homeboyz changes four
By Dennis Gatuha | Fri 23 Nov, 2018 12:30

After missing out on a seat in the Dubai then Cape Town-bound plane, Eliakim Kichoi is back in the black colours of Mwamba RFC.

Kichoi, a seminal figure in Mwamba's sevens campaign, replaces Mike Owiti on the right wing in one of the six changes rung by Kelvin Wambua. 

The half-back patnership of Martin Oyugi and Elvis Namusasi, which has started the last two competitive matches, have been  demoted to the bench in favour of close- season signing Eugene Nzioka and Tony Omondi. Brad Owako for Patrick Ruhiu is the only change among the mid field backs.

In the tight five Brian Kahura starts ahead of Kelvin Kerore, as does George Mbithi ahead of Paul Wahome in the second-row

Menengai Cream Homeboyz made a quartet of changes.

Former Kabras Sugar RFC utility front-row Joseph Amalemba have been handed the no.2 jersey with young Bruce Shiemi dropping to the replacements. Fufu, as he is popularly known, made his debut during the quarter final win over Top Fry Nakuru in the Impala Floodies on 13th October.

Lock Davies Imbuchi, a replacement in the loss to Nondies, has been promoted to the starting XV, a move that pushes newly-appointed forwards coach Polycarp Odhiambo to the blindside flank, further pushing former Kenya U19 vice captain Stanley Isogol to the bench.

Among the backs, Israel Soi has been handed the second-centre berth. Last weekend's starter Zeden Marrow moves to the right wing, Bush Mwale to the left with Victor Odhiambo dropping out of the squad all together.

There is no place in the match day 23 for last Saturday's starting fullback Kelvin Masai as the coach has preferred  Brian Juma instead . Among those tasked with providing impact from the bench are international half-back Michael Wanjala and newly-acquired centre Mark Ongayo.

1. Thomas Okidia 2. Amalemba Joseph 3. Meshack Akenga 4. Wallace onyango 5. Davies Imbuchi 6. Polycarp Odhiambo 7. Roy wesonga 8. Steve Otieno 9. Michael Nyakundi 10. Henry Ayah 11. Bush Mwale 12. Max Kangeri 13. Israel Soi 14. Zeden Marrow 15.Brian Juma

16.Bruce Shiemi 17.Jacob Owaa 18. Elphas Etemesi 19.Alai 20. Stanley Isogol 21. Michael Wanjala 22. William Diffu 23. Mark Ongayo


1.Tom Soteri 2. Brian Kahura 3. Deus Mudaki 4. Steve Wang'ondu 5. George Mbithi 6. George Omolla 7. Ken Okwado 8. Tony Owour 9.Eugene Nzioka 10. Tony Omondi 11. Joel Inzuga 12. Brad Owako 13. Mike Agevi 14. Eliakim Kichoi 15. Brian Kivasia

Replacements: 16. Kelvin Kerore 17. Eugene Sudi 18. Hussein Yahya 19. Mtani Pharell 20. Martin Oyugi 21. Elvis Namusasi 22. Felix Otieno 23. Mike Otieno

Dennis Gatuha
Once aspired to be a rugby player. Now writes about rugby players.
Leave a comment