K Lens Eye Images
Kenya Simbas squad for World Cup qualifiers named
By Eric Njiru | Fri 30 Mar, 2018 20:18

Kenya Simbas squad for the 2019 Rugby World cup qualifiers has been named ahead of the arrival of the new coach, Ian Snook.

A 35-man squad was released on Friday March 30, 2018 by the Kenya Rugby Union with up to nine players up for their international debuts. Blak Blad fly-half Levy Amunga, who is also part of the Kenya Sevens, is named in the larger squad for another year alongside Kabras Sugar forward Joseph Odero. 

Amunga did not play any match for the national 15s side in 2017. Others up for debuts include Aggrey Kitoi of Kisii RFC, Patrick Ouko of Homeboyz, Coleman Were and Johnston Mungau of Kabras, KCB duo of Peter Waitere and Michael Wanjala as well as Homeboyz half back Mohamed Omollo.

Notable names not included are Kenya Harlequins fly-half Isaac Adimo, David Ambunya and Patrice Ambunya also of Quins and Impala Saracens prop James Kubasu who made his debut in 2017. 

Kevin Masai of Homeboyz, Lyle Asiligwa of Quins and Edwin Achayo of Kabras do not make the squad. There was no consideration for Kenya Cup top try scorer Peter Misango.

Homeboyz eighth-man Joshua Chisanga is still making a comeback after nursing an injury sustained in Hong Kong cup of nations and does not make the squad. Half-backs named for the 2018 assignment are Impala Saracens skipper Samson Onsomu, KCB's Wanjala, Moha Omolo, Nato Simiyu, Biko Adema and Levy Amunga. 

Tony Onyango(Homeboyz), Darwin Mukidza(KCB) and Vincent Mose(Impala) are the fullbacks named as Dennis Muhanji and Jacob Ojee make the wingers list. 

Kenya will play Uganda, Morocco, Tunisia, Zimbabwe and Namibia in the African qualifiers for the World Cup with the winner set to qualify for the global repechage.
The new Kenya Simbas coach will arrive in April. 

Kenya Simbas squad for 2018 assignments
Moses Amusala (KCB), Joseph Odero (Kabras), Oscar Simiyu (KCB), Curtis Lilako (KCB),Dennis Karani (Impala),
Patrick Ouko* (Homeboyz), 

Philip Ikambili (Homeboyz), Peter Karia (KCB),

Coleman Were* (Kabras), Wilson Kopondo (Quins, Capt), Simon Muniafu (Sporting Club Decazevillois, France), Oliver Mang’eni (KCB), Eric Kerre (Impala),

Elkeans Musonye (Strathmore), Davis Chenge (KCB), George Nyambua (Kabras), 

Martin Owila (KCB), Steve Otieno (Homeboyz), Peter Waitere* (KCB) 

Samson Onsomu (Impala), Michael Wanjala* (KCB), Mohamed Omollo* (Homeboyz),
Nato Simiyu (Impala), Levy Amunga (Blak Blad), Biko Adema (Nondescripts),
Dennis Muhanji (Quins), Jacob Ojee (KCB),
Leo Seje (Impala), Brad Owako (Mwamba), Peter Kilonzo (KCB), Johnstone Mung’au* (Kabras),

Aggrey Kitoi* (Kisii), Tony Onyango (Homeboyz), Darwin Mukidza (KCB), Vincent Mose (Impala)  

Kenya Cup   Kenya Simbas  
Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Leave a comment