K HSBC Sport
Kenya Lionesses name 40 for World Cup qualifiers
By Raga House | Mon 10 Jun, 2019 12:59

provisional Kenya Lionesses 15s squad for 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup qualifiers has been named with 40 players making the team.

As per a communique sent by Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) on Monday, the ladies have been in session for the last one month preparing for Elgon Cup and the Rugby World Cup Qualifiers in August.

As part of their preparation after World Rugby introduced the RWC Qualifiers tournament, the ladies started off with the three weeks long Aberdeen Shikoyi Franchise where for them to make the cut into the National 15s team, they had to participate in at least two legs,” said KRU.

Sevens speedsters Irene Otieno, Mitchelle Akinyi, Stacey Atieno, Phila Olando, Celestine Masinde, Sheila Chajira, Camila Cynthia, Grace Adhiambo, Janet Okello, Janet Owino and Diana Awino make the squad.

Head Coach Felix Oloo started off with a 50-player squad which was then narrowed down to 40 after the first week of skills tests. Within the next three weeks, Oloo confirms that the performance has improved massively in the set pieces and in the backline.

“Given that we are in the same pool with Uganda in the RWC Qualifiers, the Elgon Cup match will come in very handy for us as we are able to gauge our performance,” said Oloo.

The ladies hold their training sessions every Monday, Wednesday and Friday morning at the RFUEA Grounds.

The first Elgon Cup leg is on 22nd June in Kisumu and the return leg in Kampala Uganda on the 13th of July.

The World Cup qualifiers will kick off one month after the Elgon Cup return leg and will run from the 9th to the 17th of August in Johannesburg. Kenya is in Pool A alongside Uganda, Madagascar and South Africa.

The winner of the tournament will qualify directly to the World Cup while the second best team will play a match against a selected team from South America and join the global repechage tournament if victorious.

Lionesses 15s squad: 
Hellen Achieng, Peruce Mayuka, Marindany Faith, Naomi Kemunto, Millicent Opala, Victoria Gichure, Emmaculate Awuor, Juliet Nyambura, Evelyne Kalamera,
Stephanie Waithira, Anne Njeri, Irene Otieno, Imogen Hooper, Mitchelle Akinyi, Stacey Atieno, Knight Otwoma, Asenath Oketeth, Winnie Owino, Winfred Maina,
Bernadette Olesia, Philadelphia Olando, Celestine Masinde, Sheila Chajira, Camilla Cynthia, Grace Adhiambo, Vivian Akumu, Janet Okello, Janet Owino, Anne Gorety,
Agatha Jamari, Diana Awino, Sophia Ayieta, Christabel Tata, Stella Wafula, Angeline Apiyo, Enid Ouma, Leah Njogu, Mercy Migongo, Veronica Wairimu.

African Qualifiers for the Women’s Rugby World Cup
This series of matches will be played in Johannesburg

9 August 2019

Madagascar vs Kenya
Referee: Saudah Adiru (Uganda)
Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

South Africa vs Uganda
Referee: Precious Pazani (Zimbabwe)
Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

13 August 2019

Kenya vs Uganda
Referee: Ashleigh Murray (South Africa)
Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

Madagascar vs South Africa
Referee: Saudah Adiru (Uganda)
Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

17 August 2019

Madagascar vs Uganda
Referee: Ashleigh Murray (South Africa)
Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

South Africa vs Kenya
Referee:  Precious Pazani (Zimbabwe)
Assessor: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)

Raga House
Leave a comment