Kenya 7s squads for Emirates Invitational 7s -Dubai
By Eric Njiru | Thu 25 Mar, 2021 11:19

Kenya 7s squads to the Emirates Dubai 7s Invitational 7s set for March 26 to April 11 was named on Thursday in Nairobi.

Andrew Amonde captains the squad with the rest being Billy Odhiambo, Vincent Onyala, Alvin Otieno, Bush Mwale, Willy Ambaka, Harold Anduvate, Johnstone Olindi, Daniel Taabu, Tony Omondi, Sammy Oliech, Eden Agero, Jefferey Olouch, Nelson Oyoo, Jacob Ojee and Derrick Keyoga.

Kenya Lionesses squad will see Terry Ayesa making her debut as Sinaida Aura makes a return from retirement. Phila Olando is named the captain of the ladies team that consists of Christabel Lindo, Celestine Masinde, Camilla Cynthia, Enid Ouma, Janet Okelo, Diana Awino, Leah Wambui, Sarah Oluche, Naomi Amuguni, Stella Wafula, Judith Auma, Linet Mora, Sinaida Aura and Sheila Chajira.

The organisers of the Emirates Dubai 7s will host the Emirates Invitational 7s, a competitive training camp including two tournament weekends for some of the best rugby sevens teams in the world from March 26th-April 11th in supporting the teams in their preparation for the Tokyo Olympics.   

The Emirates Invitational 7s will see fourteen international rugby teams arrive in Dubai on March 26th, moving into bio-bubbles across the Emirate to participate in the Olympic preparation event with all training and competition at the home of the Emirates Dubai 7s, The Sevens Stadium.  

Dubai is uniquely positioned both in geography and travel restrictions to host teams from all over the world in a safe and prepared environment. This will see teams enter into a strict bio-bubble with all logistics supported by the wider Emirates Group.

The teams will train and play all rugby at The Sevens Stadium behind closed doors, with spectators not allowed in attendance. The tournaments will take place on April 2nd/3rd and April 8th/9th.

"Of course, we are sad not to be welcoming fans to either of the tournaments, but safety is paramount alongside allowing players to play competitive rugby. Many of the teams have not played since the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series paused following the series’ Vancouver leg in 2020."
The tournaments are accredited by World Rugby, with international referees and officials flying into support as part of their own Olympic preparation. 
"We want to thank local stakeholders for their ongoing support for sport in the region. The approval of the events from Dubai Sports Council, UAERF & Asia Rugby."
The participating teams are: J
apan, Canada, Kenya, Spain, Uganda, France, Argentina and Chile in the men's category while USA, Canada, Kenya, France, Brazil and Japan will play in the Women's category.

Kenya Cup   Kenya 7s  
Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment