K Lens Eye Images
KCB win third consecutive Kenya Cup
By Raga House | Sat 18 May, 2019 17:28

KCB won the Kenya Cup title for a third time in a row - and seventh overall - after beating arch-rivals Kabras Sugar 15-23 in the final on Saturday 18 May 2019 at the Kakamega Showground.

Kenya Sevens skipper Jacob Ojee scored a massive 18 points off a try, two conversions and three penalties to lead the Bankers to the comeback win to add on to previous Kenya Cup titles won in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2015, 2017 and 2018. 

Kabras surge ahead

KCB led 7-5 at half time and were forced to rise from a 15-7 deficit in the second half to outwit their hosts for the title. 

Ojee stepped past Kabras outside centre Mario Wilson to barge over in the 20th minute after getting to the end of a delivery by inside center Brian Omondi. He was sure with the conversion for a 7-0 lead. Ojee, handed kicking duties for KCB due to the unavailability of Darwin Mukidza, could have activated the score board much earlier had he not sent two penalties wide in the fourth and 14th minutes. 

Kabras came to within two points of the visitors right at the interval when big George Nyambua landed a corner try off a rolling maul. Ugandan international Philip Wokorach, who had missed a penalty on 37 minutes, could have leveled matters at 7-7 but his extra sailed wide. 

Seven minutes into the second half, second row Charlton Mokua sliced through KCB’s defense under the posts for Kabras Sugar's second try of the evening. Wokorach topped it up with a conversion for Kabras to lead 12-7.  Seven minutes later Wokorach made it 15-7 with a three pointer for the sugarmen to open an eight point gap. 

Keegan sin binned

On 61 minutes Kabras would be reduced to 14 as Kevin Keegan was sent out for 10 minutes after a high-tackle. It is at this point that the game turned around in KCB's favor. 

Less than a minute after Keegan's ejection, Ojee took full advantage of an awarded penalty to drill home a penalty for KCB to reduce the gap to five points, the scores standing at 15-10. Three minutes later he added another penalty to take KCB to within two points; 15-13. 

On 71 minutes, substitute halfback Ahmed Shaban went over under the posts after getting to the end of a pass that started with a line out to send KCB back into the lead once again. Ojee was sure with the extras to see KCB stretch to the lead to 20-15. 

Ojee, set to jet out with the Kenya 7s squad to London on Monday, would drill home one last penalty on 77 minutes to put the game beyond Kabras Sugar’s reach as KCB confirmed a three-peat Kenya Cup final win over Kabras to add on to the 29-24 win in 2018 and 36-8 in 2017 - both matches hosted by KCB. It was their fourth win over Kabras at the same stage having won the 2015 final 27-3 at the RFUEA  grounds. 

This season, Kabras' only defeat was against KCB at Impala Club when they went down 44-20 with KCB's only defeat coming against Nondies on match day two. 


KCB: 1. Oscar Sorano, 2. Peter Karia, 3. Curtis Lilako © 4, Oliver Mang’eni, 5. Francis Mwita, 6. Andrew Amonde, 7. Peter Waitere, 8. Davis Chenge, 9. Samuel Asati, 10. Kennedy Moseti, 11. Jacob Ojee, 12. Brian Omondi, 13. Peter Kilonzo, 14. Tony Onyango, 15. Isaac Njoroge.

Reserves: 16. Griffin Musila, 17. Moses Amusala, 18. George Gichure, 19. Brian Nyikuli, 20. Rocky Aguko, 21. Michael Wanjala, 22, Shaban Ahmed, 23. Vincent Onyala.

Coach: Curtis Olago (Kenya)

Kabras: 15. Jone Kubo 14. Felix Ayange 13. Mario Wilson 12. Nick Baraza 11. Kevin Keagan  10.Philip Wokorach 9. Barry Robinson 8. Claude Johannes 7. George Nyambua 6. Dan Sikuta  5. Hillary Odhiambo 4. Charlton Mokua 3. Asuman Mugerwa 2. Max Adaka (C) 1. Ephraim Odour

Reserves:  16. Geoffrey Shitambasi 17. Hillary Mwajilwa 18. Joseph Odero 19. Brian Juma 20. Kevin Kabole 21. Dan Angwech 22. Johnstone Mun’gau 23. Paul Abuto.

Coach: Henley Du Plessis (South Africa)

Match officials 

Center referee: Moses Ndungu 

Assistant referees: Constant Cap, Godwin Karuga

Last 5 Kenya Cup Final results
2019 Kabras 15 KCB 23
2018 KCB 29 Kabras 24
2017 KCB 36 Kabras 8
2016 Impala 5 Kabras Sugar 22
2015 KCB 27 Kabras 3

Raga House
Related Articles
Leave a comment