A Getty Images
Kabeberi 7s pool A trio ring changes
By Eric Njiru | Fri 26 Jul, 2019 11:14

Kenya U20 scrum-half Samuel Asati and winger Geoffrey Okwatch have been named in the KCB squad to to compete at this weekend’s Stanbic Bank Kabeberi 7s in Meru.

KCB won the Kakamega 7s last weekend and will be looking to make it two in two and be in pole position to win the circuit come September.

Asati and Okwatch jetted back on Tuesday from Brazil where Chipu finished sixth at the World Junior Trophy. His return however sees Michael Wanjala miss out.

Kenya 7s international Arthur Owira will play his first match since fracturing his femur bone at Commonwealth games in 2018. 

Related: Owira undergoes surgery, ruled out for 4 months

Fly-half Ken Moseti also makes a return to sevens in the absence of Levy Amunga who is graduating at KU this weekend. He made his KCB debut last weekend. 

Impala Saracens make two change from last weekend’s squad as assistant captain Elkeans Musonye, who is in Zambia with Kenya Simbas, and Harrison Munai miss the trip to Meru.

They are replaced by Sammy Kimakwa and Evans Omondi.

Mark Kwemoi, Erick Kerre, Daniel Dindi, Xavier Bett, Jeremy Griffins, Israel Soi, Timothy Makiya, Alvin Marube and Ismael Mokaya are retained. 

Menengai Oilers will be looking to reach cup quarters after a disappointing outing in Kakamega.  Head Coach Gibson Weru has added Davis Nyaundi, Abutali Wesonga, Peter Wanjala and Emman Okwako to the squad.

Missing out is Derrick Mbaire, Andrew Odero, Brighton Maluki and Nick Mogire. 

Stanbic 7s POOL A TEAM NEWS:

1. Davis Chenge 2. Adrian Opondo 3. Shaddon Munoko 4. Arthur Owira 5. Mike Wekesa 6. Samuel Asati 7. Shaban Ahmed 8. Johnstone Olindi 9. Mike Kimwele 10. Elphas Adunga 11. Ken Moseti 12. Geofrey Okwatch 13. Eugene Sirima

Impala Saracens
1. Daniel Dindi 2. Ishmael Mokaya 3. Erick Kerre 4. Emmanuel Okeya 5. Mark Kwemoi 6. Israel Soi 7. Alvin Marube 8. Timothy Makiya 9. Paul Mutsami 10. Jeremy Griffins 11. Xavier Bett 12. Sammy Kimakwa 13. Evans Omondi

Menengai Oilers 
1 Chrispine shitindo 2. Clinton odhiambo 3. Austin sikutwa 4. Derrick Ludenyo 5  Theophilus lusangalu 6. Amos onyinkwa 7. Davis Nyaundi 8. Abutali wesonga 9. Steve Arunga 10. Derrick keyoga 11. Peter Wanjala 12.Moses Arara 13. Emman Okwako

Pool A Fixtures Round 1

Impala vs Menengai Oilers
KCB vs Meru RFC

Round 2

Impala vs Meru RFC
KCB vs Menengai Oilers

Round 3

Menengai Oilers vs Meru RFC
KCB vs Impala

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment