H Courtesy
Hong Kong, Japan qualify for Sevens World Cup
By Eric Njiru | Tue 17 Oct, 2017 09:59

Hong Kong has qualified for the 2018 Sevens World Cup courtesy of winning the Asia Rugby Sevens Series on Sunday at home.

Hong Kong beat Japan in the third round final but the latter will also take part in the global Sevens showpiece set for July 2018 in San Francisco Bay, USA.

Only two teams from Asia qualified for the World Cup. Hong Kong needed to finish at least two spots ahead of South Korea to grab second spot in the series behind winners Japan and their tournament win meant they did it comfortably, with South Korea slipping to fourth after losing the play-off for third spot to the hosts.

All eight quarter-finalists from RWC Sevens 2013 in Moscow (New Zealand, England, Fiji, Kenya, South Africa, Wales, Australia and France) qualified automatically for the 2018 edition of the tournament as did host team USA. 

Under the agreed qualification process, the top four teams outside of those nine at the 2016-17 series would book their place in San Francisco, meaning that Scotland, Canada, Argentina and Samoa are now confirmed.

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment