H Courtesy
Homeboyz, Nondies name youngins for season opener
By Eric Njiru | Fri 16 Nov, 2018 09:21

Simon Odongo will take charge of his first game as Homeboyz head coach against Nondies in the first round of the 2018/19 Kenya Cup on Saturday Nov 17.

The 2pm kick-off is LIVE on Bamba Sport and will be played at RFUEA and not Jamhuri Park.

Odongo named his matchday 23 after Thursday’s training that sees prop Thomas Okidia skipper with assistance from Roy Wesonga who starts at open-side.

Homeboyz welcome back Davies Imbuchi who just completed his studies while Wallace Onyango and Israel Soi are back from injuries.

Scrum-half Michael Nyakundi, fly-half Henry Ayah and blind winger Victor Odhiambo are up for their debuts. That also includes Emmanuel Silungi and Brian Ayimba who will debut from the bench.

Kelvin Masai has recovered from injury and starts at fullback while Kenya international Bush Mwale is on the open wing as Zedden Marrow and Max Kangeri start at the midfield.

“Most of the players have worked hard during the pre-season period and their form and hard work shown in training and friendlies have been rewarded, said Odongo.

“Nondies are a good side with seasoned and some young talented players so it’s going to be a good match as history has shown.”

Fidel Oloo

Just like TJ, Fidel Oloo will be captaining Nondies for the first time as he starts on the open-side.

Regulars Ernest Ngong and frank Mutuku join Ian Njenga in the front-row which Nondies.co.ke described as powerful and highly mobile. Martin Juma and Ian Mabwa are the day’s half-backs as Moses Begi starts at fullback while Brian Oyando and Daniel Okito are on the wings.

Brian Amaitsa, Valentine Etyang, Jeremy Matata, Francis Ochiel and Stephen Darunga are among the Nondies’ finishers.

Clashes between Homeboyz and Nondies, who are all based at Jamhuri Showground, have become one of the biggest in recent days with some ending in very close margins. Last season, the Deejayz won 29-21 on matchday two.

Homeboyz Starting line-up
1 Thomas Okidia (Captain) 2 Bruce Shiemi 3 Meshack Akenga 4 Wallace Onyango 5 Polycap Odhiambo 6 Stanley Isogol 7 Roy Wesonga (V. Captain) 8 Steve Otieno 9 Michael Nyakundi* 10 Henry Ayah* 11 Victor Odhiambo* 12 Maxwell Kangeri 13 Zeden Marrow 14 Bush Mwale 15 Kelvin Masai

16 Aaron Khalechi 17 Jacob Owaa 18 Elfas Etemesi 19 Emmanuel Silungi* 20 Davies Imbuchi 21 Evin Asena 22 Israel Soi 23 Brian Ayimba*

1.Ernest Ngong 2.Francis Mutuku 3.Ian Njenga 4.Brian Sinei 5.Brian Njenga 6.Fidel Oloo 7.Eric Okoma 8.Steve Odhiambo 9.Ian Mabwa 10.Martin Juma 11.Brian Oyando 12.Eric Gitau 13.Ivan Chebo 14.Daniel Okito 15.Moses Begi

16.Brian Itolondo 17.Wesley Odhiambo 18.Stephen Darunga 19.Steve Otieno 20.Brian Amaitsa 21.Valentine Etyang 22.Jeremy Matata 23.Francis Ochiel

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Leave a comment