M Photo by Alex Njue
High-flying Oilers under no pressure going to Prinsloo 7s
By Eric Njiru | Fri 22 Sep, 2017 12:47

National Sevens circuit leaders Menengai Oilers will be looking to go one better at the Prinsloo 7s on Saturday, September 24, 2017, in Nakuru.

Head coach Gibson Weru has named a 13-man squad to make the short-trip to NAC two weeks after losing the Kabeberi 7s final to Impala Saracens.

Harold Ojango will skipper Oilers with Hughes Anjera, Dan Abounji, Eric Ombasa, Rodgers Audi, Javan Ateh and Peter Wanjala making the squad.

“We are under no pressure; our target is to qualify for the main cup on day one and then take a game at a time on day two. We are in a tough pool and it will be a very hard day,” said Weru.

Oilers will kick-off the Prinsloo 7s campaign at 10.10am against Mwamba before taking on Western Bulls at 12.50pm and Quins at 4.30pm.

Menengai Oilers: 1. Harold Ojango (C) 2. Javan Ateh 3. Clinton Odhiambo 4. Rodgers Audi 5. Hughes Anjera 6. Dan Abuongi 7. Amos Onyinkwa 8. Derrick Kimani 9. Eric Ombasa 10. Sam Muregi 11. Theophilluslusangalu 12. Derrick Keyoga 13. Peter Wanjala


Eric Njiru
Award-winning, bold, independent Rugby Journalist and Radio Presenter in Kenya, Southern Hemisphere. Experience in Match-Day Reporting, News and Interviews. Covering Kenya 7s around the World. Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment