K KRU Photos
Four changes as Snook recalls Ojee, Muniafu
By Eric Njiru | Thu 05 Jul, 2018 10:57

Head coach Ian Snook made four  changes to Kenya's starting line up to face Uganda in the Africa Gold Cup/2019 World Cup qualifier that also acts up as the Elgon Cup reverse clash on Saturday 7 July at the RFUEA Grounds starting 3pm.

Lock Oliver Mangeni, wingers Jacob Ojee and fullback Vincent Mose are recalled to face Uganda while Kabras Sugar's Felix Ayange has been added to the squadWith Adimo starting at fly-half, Darwin Mukidza continues at inside centre while Biko Adema drops to the bench.

Also read Wokorach, Musajja return for Elgon Cup

KCB winger Jacob Ojee comes in for Edmund Anya who had a knock over the week while Kabras Sugar's Felix Ayange is up for his test debut replacing Tony Onyango on the right wing. Vincent Moses replaces Adema at fullback.

France based Simon Muniafu will play his first game under Snook from the bench. Kabras Sugar's Hillary Mwanjilwa makes the bench too alongside last week's match winner Dalmus Chituyi, Martin Owila and Xavier Bett.

Kenya and Uganda faced off in the first leg of the Elgon Cup in late May and heading to the Saturday game Kenya leads the two legged affair 34-16 with the Kampala result. 

In the Gold Cup/World Cup qualification front, Uganda hopes resurrect from a 55-6 away loss to Namibia in their first encounter while Kenya will be looking to build on a three-game winning streak under new Coach Snook. After the Kampala win the team has gone on to beat Morocco 28-24 - their first ever win away, and a come from behind 45-36 win over Zimbabwe last weekend. 

Uganda had already named its squad for the upcoming game hoping to improve on the 33-33 draw during their last visit last year. 

Also read Africa Gold Cup: The story so far


1. Patrick Ouko (Homeboyz), 2. Colman Were (Kabras Sugar), 3. Joseph Odero (Kabras Sugar), 4. Andrew Chogo (Kabras Sugar), 5. Oliver Mang’eni (KCB), 6. George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar), 7. Elkeans Musonye (Strathmore Leos), 8. Davis Chenge (KCB/Captain), 9. Samson Onsomu (Impala Saracens), 10. Isaac Adimo (Kenya Harlequin), 11. Jacob Ojee (KCB), 12. Darwin Mukidza (KCB/Vice Captain), 13. Peter Kilonzo (KCB), 14. Felix Ayange (Kabras Sugar/debut), 15.Vincent Mose (Impala Saracens), 


16. Peter Karia (KCB), 17. Moses Amusala (KCB), 18. Hillary Mwanjilwa (Kabras Sugar/potential debut), 19. Simon Muniafu (Decazeville, France), 20. Dalmus Chituyi (Homeboyz), 21. Martin Owilah (KCB), 22. Xavier Bett (Impala Saracens), 23. Biko Adema (Nondescripts)

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment