K Photo by Alex Njue
Dala 7s reverts to original date, teams to field 13 players
By Eric Njiru | Tue 26 Sep, 2017 08:14

The Kenya Rugby Union has reverted the Dala 7s to its original date, October 21, 2017, in Kisumu.

The rescheduling follows a change in the presidential election to October 26 meaning the election will not affect rugby sevens.

Dala 7s had been moved to October 14 but the new communication from KRU means teams will have a break after Sepetuka 7s.

KRU has also announced that teams will use 13 players and not 16 as seen at Prinsloo 7s as indicated in the National Sevens Circuit. The 16 player format was adopted since there would be no break but that has now been scrapped.

12 teams from Christie Sevens set for October 14 at RFUEA grounds will qualify for Dala 7s with one team gaining promotion from the second division while three more will be invited by hosts Kisumu RFC.

KCB, Impala Saracens and Homeboyz have all won a cup so far with the title race expected to run till the last round of the National Sevens Circuit.

National Sevens Circuit amended dates:
Round 4: Sepetuka Sevens, 30th September/1st October, Eldoret
Round 5: Christie Sevens, 14th/15th October, Nairobi
Round 6: Dala Sevens, 21st/22nd October, Kisumu

Kenya Cup   Prinsloo 7s   Dala 7s  
Eric Njiru
Award-winning, bold, independent Rugby Journalist and Radio Presenter in Kenya, Southern Hemisphere. Experience in Match-Day Reporting, News and Interviews. Covering Kenya 7s around the World. Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment